A Letter From Our Mailbag

Dear Ivana & Nell:

Why do authors seem to pair 23 year old women that are practically virgins of life with 1000 year old vampires? How do you proceed past the first hormone filled first dates and actually talk to each other about last night’s Knick’s game or why Alex Rodriguez finally hit a home run after 537 days?

Puzzled in Peoria

Nell 200 qDear Puzzled: I totally agree! I’ve been wondering that for years. Granted, us romance lovers are really in it for the warm fuzzy feeling we get when true love finally finds its mark, but really? What about those supers that wait 400 years to find their mate? Don’t tell me they aren’t set in their ways. Besides, have you EVER heard of a man that was good at waiting?

Ivana tells me I have to have “suspension of disbelief” if I’m going to read those books. She also tells me romance is dead and that really ruins the next swoon-worthy moment I get from the latest book I’m reading.

Well, I grudgingly accept that she’s right (don’t tell her I said that). I can’t have both. Either I accept romance is dead or forfeit the argument about supers and keep reading. I think I’ll keep reading…….

Nervous Nell

ivana 200 qThis is one of the reasons I’m not a huge romance fan.  I just can’t see a 400 year old immortal with amazing superpowers wanting nothing more than to settle down with the girl next door and have 2.5 kids and an accounting job.

But, I suppose it is a form of “fantasy,” and if the 23 year old female is the reader, of course she would fantasize about falling in love with a super.  I suppose some romance readers would criticize my fantasies about wreaking bloody justice on my enemies.  So, who’s to judge?

Invested Ivana

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

