To Be Read Pile Too Daunting?

84c760201979fab15832e5695ac0bc9cI used to have a pile of books.  A HUGE pile of books. An unread pile of books that you could physically touch and see. It was called my To Be Read pile, or TBR for short. Paper backs, hard covers – that sort of thing.  Since going electronic, I don’t have such a large pile — at least not of physical books.  My TBR pile is a secret known only to me and my Kindle… and Amazon.

I troll for books on author’s sites, on other book blogs — just about anywhere there is a conversation about books.  I find books way faster than I can read them, which is why I have a TBR pile in the first place.  I Nell 100try not to think about the massive amount of electronic words that are stuck inside my Kindle because I would probably disgrace myself.

According to answers.com, Americans collectively spend around $235.5 to $260.8 billion a year on books.  Billion.  Wow.  I can safely say my yearly quota is conservatively figured at $400 – $500 per year.  I can really get myself in a bind in a bookstore, mind you.  That being said, I am proud to be an American and able to freely spend my paycheck on whatever I want, whenever I want.  Usually, I choose books… and groceries… and tea.  Can’t forget the tea.

I justify my trolling for books because I’m doing it for this book blog, after all.  Not like I did all this trolling BEFORE the blog started or anything .  And if I happen to find a free book that I think you’d like, I feel it’s my duty to let you know.  I mean, they’re free — it seems like a responsible thing to do.

The books that I recommend need to pass a series of tests before I’ll post them… okay, just one test, really.  Will I read them?  If I don’t think I’ll read them, I won’t recommend them to you.  It doesn’t make sense to grab a book just because it’s free if I don’t think I’ll read it.

There is a point to all this rambling.  I was stumbling around out there on the good ‘ole interwebs and found a thing called TBRtime.  It’s a calculator for figuring out how much of your life you will spend if you diligently read every last book on your TBR pile.

Have I plugged my numbers in?  No.  I’m scared.  I may be known as a book hoarder by the few thpeople who really know me. Now that the books are mostly electronic, book hoarding can’t be deemed an illness because it’s not noticeable and it doesn’t damage the structure of my house.  At least that’s what I tell myself — and other people.  I usually get an eye roll when I try using that as a justification. But, you know, I could be addicted to far worse things. Books are what I like and I really thought I could convince the world with my arguments until I found this calculator.

If you want to know if you are allegedly an out-of-control book hoarder, this is the calculator for you. If I had not found this calculator, no one would never know how sick I really am. Sad thinking, that.  Well, I won’t tell if you won’t.

Check out TBRTime to find out if you need to retire early just so you can get a good start on your TBR pile.

Love,

Nell

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on April 10, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

