What Are Your Favorite Reading Places?

hammockHave you ever thought about your favorite places to read? Oh, I know — any place is a good place as long as you are reading.  But, I mean when you have a choice. And not some dreamy paradise, unless, of course, you get to live in a dreamy paradise.  I mean where do you go when you have the day to yourself and the only plans are to dive into that new release or that book that you’ve been hoarding for that special day? Is it a special reading nook at your house or apartment? Is it the comfy chairs at Barnes & Noble? A coffee shop? Library? Park? Where ever it may be, I’m sure it’s a place that makes you happy.

My favorite place is in my lawn chair next to a campfire.  I love being outside in the sun, but the rainy days hold a certain appeal — that of blankets, cats and tea. Blizzards are especially cozy. I have never been on a subway and I 61e7ad336507cd0c8fc7e025e305680edon’t have to commute by bus, so I don’t know if those would be good places or not. I have read at work on my lunch hour, but there really is not a comfortable position in a straight backed chair.  To be honest, any day is a good reading day.   There is a cute little coffee shop down on the corner from where I work that would suit for a reading place, except there is no comfortable place to sit.  I’m fairly sure their idea is to get you in and out so the next person can sit down, but it does have ambiance.  I have read in the car as I wait for my other half.  If there is a long line at the grocery store, I’ll read there too.  Neither of those places are my favorite, but they will do in a pinch.

I firmly believe listening to audio books count as reading too. I listen to audio books when I do anything that requires movement.  I listen when I sew, drive to work, make a meal or do laundry.  The problem with an audio book is when it gets really good, I catch myself sitting down to listen and no work gets done!

Okay, enough about work.  I have a favorite place to read, as well as you do, we’ve established that.  BUT, is there a a1965f2261cebc73e9228a5e3b2c7fe8place far away you have or have not been that could qualify?  I have never read on the beach.  I’m pretty sure I’d like it.  I have been to Central Park in New York City, but I’m not sure I could stop people watching long enough to get in any quality reading time.  Ivana has the perfect chair that begs for me to sit down and read.  She also has pets, so that’s a bonus.  She lives far away, so that qualifies.  I have vacationed in a cabin in the middle of the mountains where I have been left alone at that cabin all day for several days in a row.  THAT is a perfect reading spot.

Where ever your favorite spot is, can you remember what books you’ve read there?  Does one book remind you of your grandma’s front porch or another remind you about when you were in a stall waiting for a foal to be born?  My point is this: books have a special place in our hearts and in our memories. The favorite places in which we read those books also hold a treasure trove of memories OF those books.  Therein lies the joy of reading.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on April 12, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I used to really like to read in bed, but that’s gotten less comfortable as I became a glasses wearer and then a bifocals wearer. If your bifocals get skewed, you’re looking through the wrong part of the lens and the page looks all wonky. So, these days, I like my sofa. But really, I’ve love the advent of digital access to books. Now, without planning ahead, I can whip out my phone and use the Kindle app on it to pick right up where I left off, even sinking among devices. I spend a fair amount of time reading from my phone on the “mom couch” at lessons of one sort or another or in my car waiting to pick one of the kids up. The 2010s are awesome like that so far.

    Liked by 2 people

    • With ebooks, it doesn’t matter what mood I am in at the time. I can choose anything from my library and be off and running. I agree they are a remarkable invention. One I would hate to give up! 😉

      Like

  2. Your article on where to read makes me want to grab my Kindle and start reading again. I think another great place to read is at the nail salon — great place to read while getting your acrylics on don’t you think?!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

