Going Through The Change by Samantha Bryant

Going Through the ChangeTitleGoing Through The Change
Author: Samantha Bryant
Series: Menopausal  Superhero Book 1
Publish Date: April 23, 2015
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Genre: Science Fiction/Chick Lit
Perspective: Third-Person

Publisher’s Description: Going through “the change” isn’t easy on any woman. Mood swings, hot flashes, hormonal imbalances, and itchy skin are par for the course. But for these four seemingly unrelated women, menopause brought changes none of them had ever anticipated–super-heroic changes.

Helen discovers a spark within that reignites her fire. Jessica finds that her mood is lighter, and so is her body. Patricia always had a tough hide, but now even bullets bounce off her. Linda doesn’t have trouble opening the pickle jar anymore…now that she’s a man.

When events throw the women together, they find out that they have more in common than they knew–one person has touched all their lives. The hunt for answers is on.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!).


ivana 100So, Nell, what did you think of Going Through The Change?  I know it’s very different from what we usually read.

Nell 100Yes, it most certainly is. I think the author is a pretty good writer.

I agree. The writing is very clear and easy to understand and I like the way the chapters are divided amongst the four main characters.  Which of the five superpowers – being strong, being bulletproof, flying, controlling fire, or being young again – would you pick if you had to?

Being strong, but without the you know what.  Bullet proof only helps if I wanted to be a hero, I don’t.  Flying only if I wasn’t afraid of heights, which I am. Young again, I would consider, but fire? Nah. What do you think?

ivana 100Flying sounds awfully tempting to me.  How thrilling would that be?  I always loved the scene in the Christopher Reeves Superman where he takes Lois flying – minus the cheesy voice-over.  I notice there wasn’t a superhero who could make herself lose weight, though.  I’d really like that one.

Nell 100Hee Hee! That’s for sure.  What else did you like about the story?

I think what I like most is that the women find their strength in their power.  Sadly, Cindy and Helen don’t use the power very responsibly, but maybe they’ll turn around in the subsequent novels.

You think there will be sequels?

Oh, yeah, with that ending?  You bet.  It wasn’t a cliffhanger, but the bad guys got away.  There HAS to be more books in the series.


“Helen was dressed all in brightly colored spandex, her shirt clinging to her rolls of fat and featuring a picture of a candle flame. One of her feet was booted and the other was clad in a red converse sneaker. Was she wearing a cape?”

Nervous Nellie says…

Main characters: ♥ ♥ ♥ Linda, Jessica, Patricia and Helen have been blindsided with super powers during their “change of life.”  I liked the bonding and support shown between these women when the weird things happen. It goes to show that women stick together when the rest of the world doesn’t understand the difficulties they are going through.

Other characters: ♥ ♥ ♥ Go, David!  Talk about a supportive husband.

World: ♥ ♥ I have to admit up front that this is not the type of story I usually go for, however it was rather funny.  I cannot imagine waking up to these complications when all you want is to have a normal day.

Story: ♥ ♥ ♥  I liked getting to know each woman and their reactions to their super powers individually before getting them all together for the battle at the end.  The whole menopause issue with women does feel like a strange experience that could be likened to super powers.  The hot flashes in real life feel like you could melt metal or stone with your bare hands.  Anger strengthens the will to get things done even though frustration sets in much more quickly.  I felt like it was an amusing twist on real life that could lighten the mood of someone that is going through a lot of miserable changes.

Overall: ♥ ♥ ♥ The author did a very good job of writing.  She was very descriptive and I could really feel the shock in Linda when she looked down in the shower and discovered…..that thing.  I liked the writing and it was not a story that was tangled up with characters and plots.  I thought it was all very clear and well defined.

“Well, I don’t actually like coffee. It’s just a vehicle for cream and sugar as far as I’m concerned.”

Invested Ivana says…

Main characters: ♥ ♥ ♥ Linda, Jessica, Patricia, and Helen are four women searching for relief from their menopause symptoms.  In choosing to try natural remedies made by local chemist and biologist Cindy Liu, they experience some incredible side-effects.  I really loved the relationship between cancer-survivor-lonely-housewife, Jessica and Hispanic-mother-and-wife-turned-strong-man Linda.  That seemed like a wonderful supportive relationship.  Cindy Liu’s character seemed to be very different depending on who she was with.  I suppose this make some sense, as each gal would view her differently; but, it did make the character feel a little inconsistent.

Other characters: ♥ ♥ ♥ Big kudos to Linda’s husband, David and Jessica’s mother, Eva for being accepting of the changes their loved ones are experiencing.  I particularly love Eva’s big take-down at the end.

World: ♥ ♥ ♥ I can just imagine how it might feel to suddenly develop super powers; haven’t we all dreamed of this as some point in our lives — to be able to fly or to be strong or to be tough?  I like the mix of apprehension and elation that each woman experiences as her powers develop.

Story: ♥ ♥ ♥ I appreciated the individual introductions to each character at the beginning of the book.  It made me feel like I really got to know them.  I’ll admit that the part after they got together until the big fight at the end felt a little long, but the last big battle was awesome!

Overall: ♥ ♥ ♥ I have to admit this isn’t the type of story I typically choose, but it’s a fun read.  It was clearly written and easy to follow.  I would definitely suggest this book as a candidate for audio – with the right narrator, I think this would be a hoot to hear.  I think someone with more of an affinity for the genre would probably rate it higher.

Other reviews:

If you like this book…

Check out the Kate Connor, Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom series, the Superhero Central series, or the Bigtime series by Julie Kenner.  You might also like the Betsy Taylor series by MaryJanice Davidson.

Review copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on April 23, 2015, in 3-Okay, Contemporary Fantasy, Female, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Mirymom's Blog and commented:
    A really thoughtful review of Going Through the Change on a great new book blogging site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

