Reading or Housework….which will win?

houseworkAre you one of those people that have the house clean, laundry done and supper on the table all when they are supposed to be? Hey, I’m not knocking your efficiency at all – please don’t think that.  I’m just jealous.  I look around me and I do not spy a clean house.  There is paraphernalia gathered around my little nest on the couch all within reaching distance so I don’t have to get up — pens, chargers, notebooks, computer…the list goes on.

I was raised in a household where woman’s work was woman’s work and that meant cleaning, dishes, laundry, baking, cooking and all the things in which I do not excel.  My mom was a busy mom (not that moms in general aren’t because they all are very busy and how they do it I’ll never know) so she didn’t have much time for teaching.  That means I didn’t learn how to cook. I can survive and that’s really where it ends.  I learned how to clean when I discovered I could get out of sucky farm jobs by bribing my mom with a clean house.  So, it’s not that I don’t know how to do housework, I just choose to not subject myself to the dangers of it.  It’s much safer to sit on the couch and read the latest release than clean the toilet with bleach.  It is!  Trust me.

Some people find cleaning cathartic.  More power to them – and send them my way because I could use someone.  When I must clean, I will listen to an audiobook while doing it, but I really do HATE to clean.  I love the results, but I hate doing the deed.  I find that reading takes me to another place and time so if I need catharsis, I get it in either paperback or electronic form.

No, reading won’t solve your problems, but it’ll put them off for awhile.  Finished housework won’t solve your problems either.  I think the scale is tipping towards reading instead of cleaning?  Are you with me?

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on April 26, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

