Happy Birthday to ME!

Nell transp 200Do any of you buy your own birthday presents?  Yes, it’s my birthday, you read correctly.  I get a whole Saturday to wallow in my advancement in age.

What do I want for my birthday?  If I could pick books that I want – any book that I want – what would I choose?  Hmm…. that shouldn’t be hard, though I can’t count my already pre-ordered May books, or June, or July or….well, you get it… as a birthday present.  They are research.  I must do my research if  want to continue bringing you something good to read.

I went to a book signing last night.  It was an author I had never heard of – her name was Maggie Rivers.  She wrote for Harlequin in the ’70’s and now writes and self publishes her own anthologies.  I bought 3 books.  Should I count those as birthday gifts?  Nah – I was Kindlesupporting an author who is fighting for her place in the big business of selling books.

Should I buy a new Kindle? Nook? If I could say my old one is broken, then the answer would be yes, but I can’t so I guess I won’t. Should I buy myself a readable item that I wouldn’t normally buy?  How comfortable are you when you are presented with switching genres?  I’m not terribly comfortable with that.  I like paranormal romance, regency romances and urban fantasy.  I like mysteries and thrillers, police procedurals, and anything with a vampire in it.  If I were to switch to chick lit, for example, would I like it? Mmmmm…. I don’t know.  What about non-fiction?  Real life stories about tragedies are not my idea of escapism, though some people like them for the inspiration.  Biographies are fun.  I could live in the life of a historical person for awhile.  I could try a western – actually, I’ve done that through audio.  It’s pretty good.  I could move into politics, technical or professional books, but I’m not sure there is any more room on my brain’s hard drive to store that kind of INTENSE reading.  There are cozy mysteries out there that are really fun – I was hooked on them for quite awhile and then I found a cozy with a ghost in it and that segued into paranormal.  Maybe you’ve heard of Aunt Dimity?  That is a fun series.

hammockOkay…back to topic.  Happy Birthday to me….what do I want?????  Peace on earth and goodwill to men, women, children, dogs, cats, rats and elephants and maybe an occasional unicorn?  I’m pretty sure everyone wants that – that’s not original.  How about to retire young with enough money to continue to blog for as long as my fingers hold out?  Sure – that’d be fun, but I think that also probably ranks pretty high among all of us working folks.  Realistically speaking, I think what I want is a beautiful sunny, warm day sitting outside reading. Want to join me?  I’ll bring the lemonade.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 1, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy birthday! Mine was last month and my husband bought me a Kindle Voyage, even though my Kindle Paperwhite is still going strong. But I can never have enough ereaders. And the Voyage has the clearest, sharpest screen I’ve ever seen, just sayin’ it would make a great present to yourself if you do go that route 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooh, I like Mogsy’s suggestion, Nell! I’ve been eyeing the Voyage, too. Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

