My Love Of Reading

T0093f266caefaf8c9149c7e8d77cc794he first book I remember reading is an animal encyclopedia that my mom got as a gift for buying a certain amount of groceries. She got the whole set because we had to eat and the books were free. I learned everything about aardvarks to zebras and a lot of critters in between. When I was 13, my older sister gave me the first books that were actually mine — not borrowed from a library and had to be returned in a set time, but my own. They were “pre-owned” but I didn’t care.  I could read them as many times as I wanted. I could read my favorite passages over and over. It was great! That’s when I realized I was hooked. Books became my best friends.

When did you start reading? Let me know, I’m interested. Were you good friends with the librarian in school?  I was. Mrs. Brown from elementary school was awesome.  She is still awesome.  Mrs. Carlson from high school was awesome too, but she lost her job to cutbacks.  Stupid money problems.

We book lovers of this time and place really have the cat by the tail, so to speak. In the 1700’s you needed to be affluent to afford more than one book and then you needed to worry about what was “proper” to read. Can you imagine getting caught in that time reading the free range smut books we see today?  The ensuing scandal would totally ruin the respectability of many a young virgin. *gasp in a near faint*.  Some of those books are so hot, they’d melt off your wax makeup.23855c5143940833bf3026f2158b4d0d

In the early 1800’s in pioneer America, you were lucky to get the family Bible. As civilization progressed, literature followed. Sometimes, in the old West, books could be traded for staples to keep you alive. Kids were lucky to have a primer in school. Some kids (like when my grandmother was that age) were lucky to graduate eighth grade. She knows how to read, but not as well as I can at one-quarter her age. She could, however, feed her family from the land with canned vegetables and survive with barely nothing where I could not. I would not have made a good pioneer.

My rambling does have a point.  It all boils down to this: if you have the ability to read, use it. If you get a book and you hate it, donate it. You don’t have to finish it — you get points just for trying. What you don’t like, someone else will love. There are too many good books being 0b7f66ca5893298c1a82ca97839d2f1freleased every day to take your time on something that *might* get better in the last couple of chapters. If you love an author, do what you can to support him or her. Buy the author’s books. Tell your friends about them.  Tell the library to order them.  Volunteer your time to read with kids.  If you find a kid that doesn’t know how to read, be a teacher.

Using your imagination is like going to a movie and getting the best seat in the house. Reading can be a vacation if you let it. You can take a trip and never leave the farm. Reading is a lifetime hobby. It will not go out of style and if it makes you look like a nerd? So be it. I love being a nerd. I love to read.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 6, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I don’t remember my first book however I do remember returning a book to my local library at 9 years old and being told I was “too young” to read this book. Keep in mind I was returning it at that time..lol. That librarian never said that to me again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember being very little and my mother laughing at the comics in the newspaper. I would beg her to read them to me, but they wouldn’t be funny to me. When I asked her why, she said I had to be able to read them on my own to get the jokes. Well, obviously I had to do something about that! I’ve been a hard-core reader ever since. One year, I read more than 300 books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nervous Nell

      Wow! 300 books? Do you like series or stand alones?

      Liked by 2 people

      • That was two years ago. My disability has progressed, and it’s hard to keep track of information for certain durations of time. So I’m not reading any giant series now. I love the characters to go on, I want to see them again and again in other novels, in the background or as sidekicks. I mostly read fantasy/PNR. There are so many good books available now that I try a book, like it, then gobble everything I can. If I don’t, I drop it after 20 pages. Anne Bishop’s new series is one of my new favorites.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the new Bishop series, too! I don’t think Nell is quite convinced about it yet. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

