Rememberers by C. Edward Baldwin

RemembersTitleRememberers
AuthorC. Edward Baldwin
Publish Date:  June 1, 2015
PublisherInk & Stone Publishing
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Rating:  ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Publisher’s DescriptionFor 19-year-old Kallie Hunt, everyday moments began feeling all too familiar. She had a sense that she’d lived them before. But that was crazy, right? Deja vu. That was kid’s stuff, right? Been there, done that, impossible. You got one shot at this life thing. One shot. You lived. You died. End of story.

But if that was true, then why would the government be interested in her? Why would priests literally be stalking her? How could a small town girl possibly have anything to do with saving humanity from terrorists and demons? And pray-tell, what does any of it have to do with her first love?

For Kallie Hunt, there would be no simple answers. Besides, nothing in life is ever really simple. Not good. Not evil. Not even love…

Spoilers ahead!


Ruby_Lee_Revised 200

Ruby Lee says…

I had never heard of “eternal return” before I read this book.  I would have guessed that Eternal Return was an insurance company for the 65 years and older crowd, one that advertises on late night TV or during commercial breaks for reruns of the “Golden Girls;” but the idea is much more complicated than that.

What if time is not a straight line that runs from the beginning of the universe to the end?  What if time is a circle and we keep reliving the entire thing over and over again?   Everything would begin at the Big Bang and dinosaurs would rule the earth.  In time, man would make an appearance.  Eons later, he would rule the earth, and would eventually cause his own destruction and the end of everything.  Then time would start over again.  Now imagine there are people along the way that can remember bits and pieces of the past cycle and can stop bad things from happening all over again.  These are the “rememberers.”

I enjoyed this premise from the start and loved getting to know Kallie, a young college student showing signs of being a rememberer.  I fell a little bit in love with Father Frank McCarthy, a young priest who forgoes an NBA career to serve God and help others build their remembering ability.

Now if the author had only stopped there, and continued to build the ideas and conspiracy theories through several additional books instead of cramming everything into one novel, it would have been okay.  There were  FBI agents, a rogue rememberer, the gates of hell, a demon possessing the people of Philadelphia, a part-rememberer psychic who writes the Book of Origins who documents the events of each life cycle, a charismatic young minister, and of course, Lucifer.  I was overwhelmed by the depth of the storylines and amount of information crammed into a 350 page space.  The author was not able to do them all justice and could have easily tackled many of these themes over several books.

What saved the story was the surprise twist at end that tied all these different storylines together as best as it could. I don’t know how, but it worked and I loved it.

Rememberers is full of Christian history and doctrine, but it is not a Christian book.  I read some reviews that slammed this book for being “too Christian.”  The author did an excellent job at explaining several of the important aspects of the Christian faith but it was only used to create the background and add context.  I never felt it got preachy.

If you like books with a lot of deep ideas that ask life probing questions, this book is for you.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy FaceThey named a wildly handsome character after me so I give the book 5 paw prints.

Ruby FaceIf you are talking about Lucifer, the king of darkness, you are named after him.  I admit that you share many similarities, but he came first. 

Mortal human, you are angering me! Take back those blasphemous words or I will be forced to implement the HAIRBALL OF DOOM!

Remember the vet put you on that new medicine.  The best you can do now is the “phlegm of annoyance.”


If you liked this book …

Review copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on May 20, 2015, in 4-Good, Female, Review, Ruby Lee, Supernatural Thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Welcome to our newest reviewers, Ruby Lee and Lucyfer! We’re so glad to have you join us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

