Geek Question of the Day

Nell 100Geek Question of the Day: There’s nothing quite like disappearing into a good book, but let’s take that notion a step further; If you were transported (as a main character) into the last scifi/fantasy story you read, who would you be and what would you do? Assume that you had to hold out until the end of the story (or at least that particular book).

questionmarkI found this question while surfing the internet today.  I thought it might be thought provoking for all of us to sit down and chat about this.  You know we’ve all wondered at one time or another if the authors write their characters with a real live person in mind.  Well, at least I have wondered.   If I were transported into a scifi/fantasy/urban fantasy/horror/mystery thriller who would I be?

This question is kind of loaded, actually.  Don’t you think that we, as readers, put ourselves in the driver’s seat of the main protagonist when we get submerged in a story?  If it’s a good book, that’s what we all want, right?  An escape without all the dangers of real situations?

I have a very good time with my friends in my books.  When a new book comes out, I get to revisit them and learn about what is going on in their lives.  I get to experience the drama without being IN the drama.  If it gets to be too scary, I can lift my head from the story and take a break.

Okay, back to the question and answer.  My answer is a fluid answer.  It changes from minute to minute, story to story.  Right at this very moment I think I would like to be:  Makenna Frasier of the SPI files written by Lisa Shearin.  What would I do?  Probably scream like a little girl at everything that goes “bump”, but hopefully not.  I find her life interesting and I think as long as I could stay alive, I would like to give her life a try.

If I couldn’t be Makenna, I’d like to be Eve Dallas in J.D.Robb’s “In Death” series.  I’d like to pick and choose the parts of Eve I would want though.  I’d want Roarke, the mansion, the cars, the intelligence of a seasoned homicide detective, but I wouldn’t want the emotional trauma that she has endured.  I suppose that trauma and all of her experience make her the way she is, so even if I would like to be her, I’d never succeed in BEING her.

Like I said….loaded question.  Anybody else want to choose who they’d be and what’d they do?

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 24, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If this is talking about the last sci-fi/fantasy that I’ve finished, I would be Biggs in Black Moon by Kenneth Calhoun. Like Biggs, a sleeper/dreamer in a world gone crazy with insomniacs, I’d go looking for my wife who’s wandered off to who knows where. Hopefully I’d end up at the university refuge, too. I’d like to think that Id keep my wits about me and not get killed in this off-zombie genre.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to be a specific character within a story, but I’ve often fantasized about would it be like to live in their universe, particularly sic-fi or fantasy settings. A romp through the halls of Hogwarts would be awesome. But a trip to Westeros would probably leave me scarred (literally). Actually, now that I think about it, I probably stand a good chance of getting scars at Hogwarts too …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

