Moment of Reflection, Please

la-et-jc-25-essential-memorial-day-books-20140-001Memorial Day means different things to different people.  Some folks it only means a three day weekend to play, party and have fun.  Some folks it hits harder because they are missing their family member that is deployed or God, forbid, killed in action.

Memorial Day means to me the remembering of relatives long past.  I visit the graves of my great grand parents, grandparents, my great aunts & uncles, my nephew and sister & brother.

Memorial Day to me means I take a minute to remember what I’ve read about the history of the wars932272_Raising_the_Flag_on_Iwo_Jima_by_peirateis_jpg8054793e1f712a8e564f7223e07cbfa9 and the men and women who fought in them.  I always admire the courage of those unsung heroes that did what they did at their own personal peril because it was the right thing to do.

I am writing this on this special day to thank those Veterans that take time out of their day to go to funerals of the fallen and play “Taps” and pay tribute with the 21 gun salute. I want to thank those Veterans who go to schools and teach young kids about what the flag means to them. I want to recognize the “Wounded Warrior Project”, “Any Soldier”  and “Adopt a US Soldier.” These sites are legit and help our soldiers while they are away from home.

Thank you to all of you.  May God, your determination and all our prayers keep you safe.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 25, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

