Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones

Eighth GraveTitleEighth Grave After Dark
Author: Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson Book 8
Publish Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Perspective: First Person

Publisher’s Description: With twelve hellhounds after her, pregnant Charley Davidson takes refuge at the only place she thinks they can’t get to her: the grounds of an abandoned convent. But after months of being cooped up there, Charley is ready to pop. Both metaphorically and literally since she is now roughly the size of a beached whale. Fortunately, a new case has captured her attention, one that involves a murder on the very grounds the team has taken shelter upon. A decades-old murder of the newly-vowed nun she keeps seeing in the shadows is almost enough to pull her out of her doldrums.

Charley’s been forbidden to step foot off the sacred grounds. While the angry hellhounds can’t traverse the consecrated soil, they can lurk just beyond its borders. They have the entire team on edge, especially Reyes. And if Charley didn’t know better, she would swear Reyes is getting sick. He grows hotter with every moment that passes, his heat scorching across her skin every time he’s near, but naturally he swears he’s fine.

While the team searches for clues on the Twelve, Charley just wants answers and is powerless to get them. But the mass of friends they’ve accrued helps. They convince her even more that everyone in her recent life has somehow been drawn to her, as though they were a part of a bigger picture all along. But the good feelings don’t last for long because Charley is about to get the surprise of her crazy, mixed-up, supernatural life….

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!)


The conversation between Nell and Ivana has been censored due to TOO MANY SPOILERS!  And exclamation marks.  And stunned smileys.  And maybe some tears.


Nell 100Nervous Nellie says…

4 stars – OMG and Wow.  Can I say, ‘whiskey, tango, foxtrot’????  Where’d that come from!?

I am so stunned, I can’t even think.  I don’t want to say too much, but HOLY CATS!  I can’t even think of where to begin!

I didn’t see the wedding coming.  I didn’t see the Hell Hounds coming or the dead people or the spies or (the  &*#(&&$*#ed  up, dirty, rotten, no good and bloody Earl Walker).  Whew, that felt good.  Okay, next on my hit list is the ever so hot, steamy, dreamy and handsome  Reyes Alexander Farrow.  I love Reyes, but he’s not like he used to be. He used to be dark, secretive, feral and so mysterious.  I guess daddyhood whipped him.  Next is Leland – really?   I’m kind of pissed at Charley’s dad and mortified- even though I shouldn’t be – of Denise. Finally and lastly, although I reserve the right to continue this rant at the drop of the hat, but right now – how and when did Angel & Reyes get so chummy?  For the love of Pete!! *heavy sigh with the weight of the world*  Wow.

Okay – I’m gonna list 3 things (in no significant order)  that I really liked in this book and I’m sure there are more, but at this point this is all I’m willing to give up.

  1. Mr. Wong.
  2. Baby Beep’s birth – that was a thrill!
  3. Earl (bloody, rotten, jerk face, evil maniac) Walker

Rarely am I speechless, but if you haven’t read this series, you really must.  I love you Darynda (minor fan girl awe, okay….maybe major fan girl awe) and would you come over for some tea so I could pick your brain?  I really need to know where you are going with this!

ivana 100Invested Ivana says…

Um, wow.  Just… wow.  I don’t think I’m sure how I feel about this book quite yet.  There were some awesome things about it and some very surprising things about it.  I think I’m still in shock just a bit.  I don’t want to say too much about the book because I would never want to spoil the surprise for anyone else. But lemme just say I did NOT see any of that coming, not even a tiny little bit, and I’m not really sure where the next book is going to go.  I’m so glad that Book 9 has already been announced or I might think this was the last book. It certainly reads like the end of a story arc, at least, but with several setups for the next one.

I’ve read many authors talk about “showing” rather than “telling.”  Toward the end of the book, there is a big chunk of “telling.”  A lot is revealed in a short amount of time, some of it heartbreaking, some of it really intriguing.  But, again, NONE of it expected.

Loreli King, as always, does a fantastic job as Charley.  She is such a perfect choice for narrator of this series.

I really want to say so much about this book, but I can’t possibly give it away.  I would really encourage you NOT to read any other reviews about this book before you read it.  Let yourself be surprised.  But, after you’ve read it, email me and we’ll dish. 😉

Other reviews ( I TOLD you not to read any more reviews!):

If you like this book…

You might like the Undead–or Betsy Taylor, Vampire Queen–series by MaryJanice Davidson.  Also, try the Black Wings series by Christina Henry.

No promotional consideration was granted for this review.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on June 3, 2015, in 4-Good, Female, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Paranormal Romance, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

Leave a Reply

