The Last True Vampire by Kate Baxter

Last True VampireTitle: The Last True Vampire
Author: Kate Baxter
Series: True Vampire 01
Publish Date: June 2, 2015
Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperback
Genre: Paranormal Mild Erotic Romance
Perspective: Third Person

Publisher’s Description: As Michael’s eyes lit on a female not twenty feet away, he knew without a doubt that it was her blood that called to him and her scent that had awakened him.This female had tethered his soul and returned it to him.

Soul Survivor

He is the last of his race. The one true king of the vampires. Michael Aristov roams the nightclubs of L.A. after dark, haunted by his past and driven by his hunger. The last of the Ancient Ones, he alone has survived the destruction of his race at the hands of the slayers. Now he is forced to hunt and feed like a common vampire, a creature of lust. Nothing in this world can fulfill his needs…until he meets a woman who’s everything he’s ever wanted. And more.

Sweet Salvation

Her name is Claire Thompson. Her blood is so sweet, so intoxicating—the smell alone draws Michael to her like a moth to the flame. Sly, sexy, and seductive, Claire seems to be the only mortal who can satisfy his craving and seal his fate…forever. Can she be trusted? From their very first kiss, the last true vampire sweeps Claire into a world in which darkness rules desire—and where falling in love is the greatest danger of all…

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!).


Nell 100Nervous Nellie says…

Main characters: ♥ ♥ ♥ Mikhail Aristov is an eons old vampire, the last of the Ancient Ones, the last of his kind.  Claire Thompson is the heroine that will save them all.  Ronan is Mikhail’s right hand.

Other characters: ♥ ♥ ♥ Gregor the Black, highland lord bent on killing every last vampire and dhampir in existence.

World: ♥ ♥ ♥ Normal run of the mill LA with its high priced houses and its lower than poverty slums.

Story: ♥ ♥ ♥  It’s a vampire conquering human instead of a romance.  Claire is dominated and bullied into the relationship and guess what?  She runs.  Um, hello?  You’d think that a vampire that old would have figured some things out, but nope – a twenty something woman has to teach him.  Anyway, Mikhail has had his share of devastation in his long life and once you become a vampire (a vampire must turn you from a dhampir) you lose your soul until your mate comes along and restores it.  That’s called tethering.  It’s a pretty good spin on an old story.

When Mikhail happens upon Claire in a night club where she is trying to hustle for the rent money, he dominates her quickly and thoroughly.  Lucky for him, somewhere inside of Claire she knows that there is something more than just a weird hookup in the middle of a club.  Mikhail needs  Claire to survive.  Mikhail needs Claire to make him strong so he can replenish the vampire race.  Claire doesn’t need Mikhail until the bad guys come and threaten her with death and dismemberment.  It’s not much of a love story when it’s more like animals in heat with the mating desire instead of giving the protagonists the chance at love first.

Overall: ♥ ♥ ♥ This book moves away from what I normally review.  I don’t usually do reviews on smut, but I was asked by NetGalley to review, so I didn’t want to disappoint them. It was okay – typical smut book where you are reading for the thrill and not so much for the story.  I’d be foolish to say I didn’t like it, because I can’t lie.  I did like it, but it was just a tortured bad boy saved by an innocent fresh faced, youthful little chickie with a good heart.  Yeah, okay.  I’ll probably read book #2 just because I happen to like those kinds of stories.

Ruby_Lee 100Ruby Lee says…….

4 Stars

To be completely honest with you, my readers, I haven’t read a vampire story since Sookie, Bill, and Eric disappeared from my life over two years ago. (The Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris) When I stumbled upon The Last True Vampire, my first thought was “Am I ready?” Five years ago, The Sookie Stackhouse series was what brought me back to reading after I had strayed due to some medical problems and a very stressful job. So the question was “Could I let another vampire into my heart?”

I was a little unsure when I started reading The Last True Vampire but that feeling was soon replaced by the thrill one experiences when jumping on a truly spectacular roller coaster ride.   Once I started, I couldn’t stop until I reached the end.

This story is unique to its self and shouldn’t be compared with any other vampire tale. Mikhail and Claire’s love story can only be described as explosive both in and out of the bedroom. Overall, this book is definitely above an R rating but not quite NC-17. Let’s just say you wouldn’t want your children reading this over your shoulder and you won’t lend it to your Grandma.

I will definitely be following this series as it grows overtime. So if you are like me and aren’t sure if you can love a vampire story again, give this one a try. I think you may fall in love.


Lucy Face

Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucyfer: 1 Paw. Yuck… Gross… Cooties… All this talk of love makes my fur crawl. I think I would make an excellent immortal vampire kitty because I could suck blood from clueless dogs everywhere. But if being a vampire means you must find your soul mate, I think I will stick to my mortal 9 lives. Of course, I could still suck blood from clueless dogs everywhere.

Other reviews:

If you like this book, try:

ARC was received from the publisher via NetGalley for a fair and unbiased review.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 4, 2015, in 4-Good, Female, Nervous Nellie, Paranormal Romance, Review, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Interesting to read both reviews. I am still over the whole vampire phenomenon so I won’t be reading this, especially if it is a bit of smut as Nervour Nellie claims. Vampires and smut… are usually a no for me. However, I am always willing to take a chance… and the second review has me more inclined. Thanks for the reviews!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

