Confessions of a Bookworm – Reading Genres You Don’t Like

p1Anila over at Parajunkees View has another confession of a bookworm question of the week.  She really makes me think.

This week’s question:
“What would you do if you were forced to read a genre you simply cannot like?”

Nell 100

Nervous Nell says…

This is not a scandalous confession.  I’m sure that I’m not the only person out there for whom stepping outside my reading zone is pretty difficult.  I like what I like and if I have to read a genre that I cannot like it would probably take forever to get the book done.  I’m a procrastinator when it comes to things I don’t like. I’m pretty good at negotiating to get myself out of doing something that I’m gonna hate.  With that being said, I will try a genre if I’ve never tried it before.  I usually stick with what I know, but I won’t dismiss it without at least a look.  I have an example where I was forced to read the “Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck for school.  I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either.  I realize it’s a classic, but 1939 must not have been my year.  I did try it and I did finish it.  It won’t be my go-to relaxation and escapism book, that’s for sure.

ivana 100Invested Ivana says…

I think I’m with Nell on this one. I would procrastinate and avoid. If I have to do it, like with some books I had to read in school, I’d do a lot of skimming. Once a wrote a book report on Uncle Tom’s Cabin just by reading the captions under the illustrations. I know I was supposed to want to read such a critical piece of American history, but I really wasn’t of an age to appreciate that at the time. So I got creative. No one ever knew … until now!

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 10, 2015, in Blog Memes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

