The President’s Shadow by Brad Meltzer

22501099Title: The President’s Shadow
Author: Brad Meltzer
Series: Beecher White #3 or The Culper Ring #3 series
Publish Date: June 16, 2015
Genre: Thriller/Suspense
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionThere are stories no one knows. Hidden stories. I find those stories for a living.

To most, it looks like Beecher White has an ordinary job. A young staffer with the National Archives in Washington, D.C., he’s responsible for safekeeping the government’s most important documents . . . and, sometimes, its most closely held secrets.

But there are a powerful few who know his other role. Beecher is a member of the Culper Ring, a 200-year-old secret society founded by George Washington and charged with protecting the Presidency.Now the current occupant of the White House needs the Culper Ring’s help. The alarming discovery of the buried arm has the President’s team in a rightful panic. Who buried the arm? How did they get past White House security? And most important: What’s the message hidden in the arm’s closed fist? Indeed, the puzzle inside has a clear intended recipient, and it isn’t the President. It’s Beecher, himself.

Beecher’s investigation will take him back to one of our country’s greatest secrets and point him toward the long, carefully hidden truth about the most shocking history of all: family history.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!!)


Nervous Nellie says…Nell 100

This was an fantastic read.  I’ve watched Brad Meltzer on the History Channel several times and have enjoyed his show.  When I saw this book was available, I thought the premise sounded very engaging and I was not wrong.  This can be a stand alone story even though it’s Book 3 of a series.  There is no cliffhanger.

I am so not made for this kind of subterfuge. Politics has never been my strong suit and I can tell you from reading this book, that it never will be.

I have to say I really loved the history and trivia that was peppered throughout this story. I loved the inside glimpse that I was given into POTUS’s life. Do I think it’s accurate? I am a civilian so I have no idea the kinds of secrets politicians, the secret service or the military hides. I have no idea what kinds of things are still being hidden in history. Freemasons, Skull and Bones, Illuminati and a host of other secret societies exist and I am an outsider who will never be on the inside. This book lead me into a world that I have no doubt exists on some scale. Conspiracies to kill the president, manipulate circumstances and outcomes of people and events– playing the long con is what this is all about. It’s a world that leads me to believe that I really don’t want to know what all the secrets are about.

Basically, this story boils down to three grown children of soldiers that want to find out what happened to their fathers. The biggest player of all of the players is the president himself. He manipulates, charms and appeals to the good in people or the bad in people. Whichever will further his end game. There were some atrocities that were brought to light and even when the president was contrite and supposedly honest, he was still playing the game.

This book was an incredible study of how people can react to get what they want. If it takes killing, they do it. If it takes lying, they do it. It all comes down to one thing – follow orders and the chain of command and you’ll probably stay alive. Maybe.

badge4v4This book was very well written. It pulled me in and held me captive until the end page. If you like military intrigue, historical coverups and politicians being….well…politicians, then this book is for you. Even if you aren’t really into that kind of thing, the overall arc of the story is the study of human behavior and that is fascinating all on it’s own.

I now remember why I read the paranormal because at least with the paranormal I can pretend these things really don’t exist.

More Reviews

If you want to research more on this book, check out this review:

If you like this book…

I’ve not read any other books similar to this one but these were recommended:

This series I’ve read a few but not all.  I love it, except Tom Cruise DOES NOT play my Jack Reacher.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 11, 2015, in 4-Good, Male, Nervous Nellie, Review, Thriller/Suspense and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

