Book Hangover….is it worth it?

I know you’ve had one.  Don’t be ashamed.  C’mon – stand up, come forward, TESTIFY!  Okay, you big chickens….I’ll be the first.

3cb6fecbafc1b8c311ae816667e9fbbdMy last hangover was this morning.  In fact, new release Tuesday is always reason for Hangover Wednesday.  I was told recently by an author that when a writer finishes a chapter, it is written in the Great Halls of Infinite Wisdom that they MUST leave a “hook” at the end of said chapter.  She explained that writers need to do this so that I will keep reading.  Well, I’m here to tell you, they don’t need no stinkin’ hook.  When the book is good, I have to keep going. When there is action, adventure, killing, maiming and mayhem, I’ll be there right along with the protagonists.  I’ll even ride along even further if there is a good romance intermingled with the kicking ass and taking names.

How do I prevent a hangover, you ask?  Take the next day off from work.  If that isn’t going to fly, then my next best course of action is finishing the book well before bed time. Still not a cure-all, but it’ll work.  Oh, and for PETE’s SAKE, do not start a book at bed time.  That’s just asking for trouble.

What are the symptoms of a book hangover?  Hitting the snooze button on my alarm clock at least twice more than the usual book-hangovermultiple times.  Dragging along with a broken heart if the author kills your favorite character.  Standing in the checkout line with that dreamy look on your face as the cashier nearly smacks me with the little divider-y thing that divides my groceries from the next person in line.  Trolling the internet for forums that are talking about the story, so I can relive all the excitement and adventure all over again through other people.  Picture cast the characters of the book on Pinterest. Endlessly talking to friends and relatives about how awesome the book was and dragging them to the library, book store or sending them links to the ebook on the e-retailer hook up I have.

The biggest and most noticeable of all things that will send a message to all people around you with what might as well be a huge neon arrow, is the inability to reconcile yourself to the ending of the story.  There are urban legends out there about little old ladies that are so unhappy with a book ending they pile into a car at 2 a.m. drive the rest of the night just to get to the author’s house and give them the whatfor.  I’d never do that.  I might think about it, but then cooler heads prevail (marital ball and chain) and talk me down from the ledge.

How do I get over a book hangover?  I create a Pinterest board and cast the characters with pictures of random people I find on the internet that fit with the image in my head.  I write a review.  I call a friend and rant and rave.  I search out the next book in the series, read the preview and pre order it. I read forums on Goodreads about the story and try to help others through the same thing.  Think of it as “BA”.  NO, not bad ass, but come to think of it, that’s really kind of a good descriptor.  No, what I mean is Bibliophiles Anonymous.  Like AA, NA or any other of the anonymous’s that have to do with addiction.  I really do think reading is an addiction.  I mean, you get the drama, excitement, adventure, love and romance all while sitting in your easy chair drinking a margarita. What could be better?

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 17, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I tend to be sick on Tuesday. It is miraculous how I can know months in advance that I will be sick. And then I harass others, have you read it, have you read it now, why haven’t you read it now? Really, I just can’t understand why they weren’t sick too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh boy do I understand..I used to day up way past my bedtime to finish..not so much now. Of course not because I don’t want to but because my body won’t let me. Retirement looks so good…books galore!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

