Closed at Dark by Rob Blackwell

23768255

Welcome to Saturday Shorts, where we feature short stories and novellas.

TitleClosed at Dark
Author: Rob Blackwell
Series: Soren Chase prequel
Publish Date: November 9th 2014
Genre: Horror
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionWhen a mysterious white-haired man tries to kidnap Sara Ignatius’ son and then vanishes before her eyes, Sara knows there’s only one person who can help her: Soren Chase, one of the country’s best supernatural investigators.

For Soren, the case is personal. Sara’s fiancé was John Townes, Soren’s best friend who died in a supernatural attack several years earlier. Soren will do anything to save Sara’s son, but he must act fast. Because the kidnapper has a mission of his own, and he’s willing to destroy anyone who gets in his way…

A prequel to the full-length novel The Forest of Forever, Closed at Dark is a self-contained novella that can be enjoyed by anyone who loves urban fantasy, mystery and suspense.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!).


Nell 100Nervous Nellie says…..    

Soren Chase is a paranormal detective.  That, in itself, was enough to pull me in. The protagonist is a self tortured, broody man (just my type) that needs redemption.  This story is a prequel to the series and it probably answers some questions, but since I haven’t read the series, I haven’t many questions……..yet.

The story is well written and it kept me flipping pages as quick as I could.  The world is modern day where children are stolen and sold except the bad guy is a literally a horrible monster.  There was a strong mystery that came together fairly quickly, but in a novella you would expect no less.  Mr. Blackwell had me guessing right up til the end.

The characters were good.  I would have liked a little more description of them so I could picture them in my head.  The only two that I got a clear picture was Sarah, her son Alex and his dad, John.  Peter was well described because he gave me the creepy crawlies.badge4v4

Overall, I rate the story a 4.  I am looking forward to the first book in the series.  This is a good read for an hours worth of waiting time, but just be warned that once you pick up, you won’t be able to stop.

Other reviews:  Amazon and Goodreads

Stand Out Award Badge2If you like this book, try:

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 20, 2015, in 4-Good, Horror, Nervous Nellie, Review, Standout Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

