Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

24362484Title: Second Chance Summer
Author: Jill Shalvis
Series: Cedar Ridge Book 1
Publish Date: June 30, 2015
Genre: Romance
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s DescriptionCedar Ridge, Colorado, is famous for crisp mountain air, clear blue skies, and pine-scented breezes. And it’s the last place Lily Danville wants to be. But she needs a job, and there’s an opening at the hottest resort in her hometown. What has her concerned is the other hot property in Cedar Ridge: Aidan Kincaid-firefighter, rescue worker, and heartbreaker. She never could resist that devastating smile . . .

The Kincaid brothers are as rough and rugged as the Rocky Mountains they call home. Aidan has always done things his own way, by his own rules. And never has he regretted anything more than letting Lily walk out of his life ten years ago. If anyone has ever been in need of rescuing, she has. What she needs more than anything are long hikes, slow dances, and sizzling kisses. But that can only happen if he can get her to give Cedar Ridge-and this bad boy-a second chance …

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

I fell in love with Jill Shalvis on a snowy winter evening. I had just purchased my first Kindle and I wanted to find the perfect book to read. As I was skimming through hundreds of books, the words “sexy veterinarian” caught my eye. I will read anything if there is a sexy male veterinarian found someplace in the pages. Sexy male veterinarians are my kryptonite, so I bought my first Jill Shalvis book out of her Animal Magnetism series. The story was great, as I expected, but what caught me off guard was the humor. She made me laugh out loud and that rarely happens for me while reading a book. So I worked my way (quickly) through her Animal Magnetism series (many drool-worthy veterinarians in those stories), and then I started devouring the Lucky Harbor series.

I know this may be more information then you need but it is important to understand my mindset when I started Second Chance Summer. This is Jill Shalvis’s first book in her new Cedar Ridge series that is being released on June 30th. I was so head over heels excited to be one of the first people to read Second Chance Summer, but I was also scared. Jill Shalvis has been my go to author for so long. What happens if this series doesn’t have the same magic? How will I feel if this book is just okay? It is hard to recover from being disappointed by one of your go to authors, and it can throw you off of reading for a while.

badge4v4When I finally turned on my Kindle and started reading, I immediately knew Jill Shalvis had woven her magic through the pages and my fears were completely unwarranted. What I love about Second Chance Summer is that it is full of very real characters that you could meet on the street or in a coffee shop of any small town. Don’t get me wrong… I like the Billionaire-sweeps-the-girl-off-her-feet-and-she-never-has-to-worry-about-anything-again type of stories but I don’t get invested in those characters. At the end of the book, I felt sad that my new friends won’t be able to come out and play again until the second book of the Cedar Ridge series is released.

But the best thing about any Jill Shalvis book is the humor. Check out one of my favorite passages:

She cleared her throat. “So you showed up all Captain America to save the day, and now what? I jump into bed with you? Was that your plan?”

“Yeah, he said, “but in my version we didn’t talk this much.”

A full-service rescue then,” she said evenly.

He tried a cajoling smile. “I’m really good at full service.”

If you like romance and humor, you won’t be disappointed. Besides I learned something very important about myself while reading this book: If sexy male veterinarians are my kryptonite, then hot male firefighters are my crack.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy Face2 paw prints –  Sexy veterinarians give me hives so I am giving an extra star for not having to subject myself to that. I was also pleased that there was some blood, pain, and danger. I need something to get myself through these romances she exposes me to and this book had no dogs. Dogs in romance novels give my hives a rash.


If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on June 23, 2015, in 4-Good, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

