How Do You Read Blogs? We Want To Know!

How-People-Read-Online1Since becoming the editor of this blog site, I have learned about blogs real fast. One of the most important things I’ve learned is not to make sweeping changes to the blog template just before going to bed on a “school” night. It doesn’t leave enough time to fix the things that inevitably get messed up; reviewers and beloved authors will panic. 🙂

Something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is how our followers read the blog. There are SO MANY way to follow and read a blog — Twitter, Facebook, Google +, RSS feeds, email, the WordPress reader. “Check out Blog Lovin'” has been an item on my To Do list for so long that I didn’t quite remember what Blog Lovin’ was until I checked it out last night. Many people have asked if our blog is on Tumblr. I imagine every reader must have a favorite way to follow and read blog posts that interest them.

I’ve discovered I like following and reading blogs by email the best. Not only that, but I like receiving individual posts in an email rather than digests, and I tend to give the email more attention if there are pictures — in my case, the cover of the book being reviewed. I find that a little silly coming from a reader, but I acknowledge that it is true. I do not like email teasers — where you have to click on a link to go to the web page to see the full post. I want to read the entire, properly formatted post in my email. Some blogs I follow don’t match my preferences, and I admit I don’t pay them as much attention as I do others. Don't Read BlogSome blogs I’ve run across don’t have an option to follow by email at all. I probably won’t ever look at those sites again. I might be missing out on a really great blog because it doesn’t fit the format I prefer.

Thank goodness one of our readers, paynepill, pointed out early on that our blog emails were teasers. Paynepill’s question made me hunt around in the WordPress options to find the setting to change it. For a while, our posts were delivered via email in all their full text and color glory. Now we’re back to teaser emails while I try to figure out how to improve the main page. 😦  But without paynepill’s question, I wouldn’t have even known it was an option I could change. So thank you, paynepill, very much!

Now I wonder… How do other readers prefer to read a blog, and is our blog matching their preferences? Are other people not paying attention to our blog because it doesn’t come in a format they like? Is it an easy change I can make? Not that I believe everyone will love our blog and MUST read it, but I have enough customer service training to know that meeting a customer’s needs and preferences is important. And I wonder how well we are doing.

So, dear reader, here is my question for you: Are we meeting your following and reading preferences? I will assume we are to some extent, since you are reading this post. Could we do it better? Do you have friends whose preferences are different than yours? Could you share that with us? Better yet, ask your friends to share that with us. We may not venture into every new type of social media, but if there are some quick and easy changes we can make to the blog to meet the preferences of more readers, I’d sure be interested in knowing.

P.S.  This 2013 post from Reviewz ‘N’ Tips (from whom I borrowed the adorable cat picture) says that most of you haven’t even gotten this far in the article. 🙂

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on June 24, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I follow two ways. One-through feedly, because it is easy. And I hate the teaser ones too. And two, for blogs that are on WordPress, through the reader here. There are just more ways to interact, like “liking” a post.

    And i didn’t know you could change the way the emails send out. how do you do that?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Right? How would you know? Okay, I went to WP Admin, Settings, Reading. Next to the option that says, “For each article in a feed, show…” I selected “Full text.” Then Save. I would have never thought of the email as a “feed,” but it was the only thing that remotely seemed to fit the situation. It seemed to work. I might have screwed up the way something displays in Feedly, though! 🙂

      Now I’m back to teaser emails because I was trying to adjust how the front page displays articles. I really want a magazine layout, but I didn’t care for any of the free magazine themes in WordPress. One of these days I’ll have to spring for a self-hosted site and full theme. Maybe I’ll make it a goal — like if we get 3000 followers, I’ll get a full paid site. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks. Fortunately that’s how mine was already.

        And free hosting is just a mine field of settling. I recently switched over over from blogger, because of the aforementioned interaction options. Mostly I like it, but I’m a bit frustrated by the inability to do some things with HTML. I’m war before any sane threshold for switching to paid though, so I’ll work around.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I prefer to limit my incoming emails. I go to wordpress and check my feed.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ever since the demise of google reader, I’ve switched to Feedly and so far it’s been meeting all my needs. I love it, I wish it was more popular but within the book blogging sphere Bloglovin still seems to reign supreme.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. There are a few (including this one) that I subscribe to via email. But that’s very few. Others, I follow through a variety of systems (wordpress, blogger, bloglovin’, etc), though, honestly, my days are busy and I don’t get back to those feeds all that often. If I like a post I might also just follow that person on Google+ or Twitter, figuring they will link to their stuff there. But, I also like just running across links that people post here and there. Random happenstance is a lovely way to find things.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I so appreciate all your feedback! One more question then: should I ditch the teaser emails/feeds even though that means the posts on the main page will be longer and fewer reviews will show up for site visitors?

    I wonder if there is a widget for recent posts that displays pictures?? *enters research mode*

    Like

Leave a Reply

