Feature & Follow Friday – Required Reading

FF_2013Button-300x300Hi Everybody! Here’s another installment of Feature & Follow Friday hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, where bloggers post links to their blogs on Parajunkee’s site, answer the Feature & Follow question in a blog post, and then visit each others’ sites checking out the answers!

Is there a book that you were required to read in school that you actually loved? – Suggested by Natalie Hearts Books.

Nell 100Nervous Nell Says…

I was required to read a lot of books and I really didn’t like any of them.  I mean, they were fine, but not ones that sit on my favorites shelf and I go back to time and again.  As Ivana can tell you, I am not a fan of the classics.  Just not my thing.

ivana 100Jane SlayreInvested Ivana says…

Jane Eyre.  I was assigned the book for an advanced literature/reading class in high school.  Though I loved history, I wasn’t excited about it… until I started reading.  Have you read this book?  It’s an Edwardian soap opera!  I devoured it over the weekend and shocked the teacher.  We had a goal to read 50 pages a day; I read the 400 page Jane Eyre in a weekend.  But that was no big deal around my house growing up.  I don’t think I’ve read it since, but have thought about it.  Now, I’d be more likely to read Jane Slayre. 🙂

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 26, 2015, in Feature & Follow Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I don’t really do classics either. Specially when I was in school. Well except for The Outsiders but alot don’t actually count that as a classic. However I did devour and love To Kill A Mockingbird which is, but that was just this year. Most of Shakespeare, I can’t though. & I tried to read Tale of Two Cities after loving so many books that reference it, but I just could not get into it.

    I haven’t read Jane Eyre but I have thought about it. Just not on the top of my list since classic are iffy with me. I like more action, drama, and paranormal elements. I’d be more willing to read Jane Slayre too!

    New follower via Twitter & Bloglovin
    -Amanda @ Hearts Reading

    Liked by 2 people

    • Welcome, Amanda! I like Shakespeare’s stories, but the writing just isn’t what we’re used to. That’s why movies like 10 Things I Hate About You, that are based on Shakespeare stories, interest me. I found a book series called No Fear Shakespeare that has the original writing on one side of the page, and the modern language equivalent on the other. It’s pretty cool and much easier to read.

      Like

  2. Most required readings can be unimpressive especially because of the pressure that we do need to read them. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sometimes I struggle with the classics too. Jane Eyre was certainly epic, though! Old follower 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nervous Nell Justice

    Thanks for the support for the non-classic education I have. I Know I’d read Jane Slayre too. I loved Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter. I have Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Mansfield Park and Mummies: Monster Mayhem, Matrimony, Ancient Curses, True Love, and Other Dire Delights and Jane Slayre on my HTBRBTYE “Have To Be Read Before The Year End” pile.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wished we could of done Jane Eyre in literature. We did Emma and Little Prince as our books along with some Greek play and Australian poetry
    Thanks for stopping by earlier and following you back now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wish I would have read Jane Eyre in school. I read it on my own a few years ago and really liked it.

    I’m a new Bloglovin’ follower.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I wasn’t a big fan of that many of our assigned reading in high school. There were a few that I liked, but most of the books I wouldn’t read because I just couldn’t get into them. Almost failed the class a couple times.

    My FF: http://onceuntold.blogspot.com/2015/06/feature-follow-friday-required-reading.html

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It makes you wonder, doesn’t it, why the smart folks who design K-12 curriculum can’t find some more exciting books for lit class that cover the same themes as the classics? Obviously, those classes are historically important in some way, but if they are also uninteresting to the target audience, no learning is happening. Writers, take note!! 🙂

    Like

  9. OMG, I LOVE “Jane Eyre”!!! It’s my favorite all-time classic!! I love the characters, the plot, the writing — EVERYTHING!! So glad you like it, too, Ivana! I had the biggest crush on Edward Rochester for the longest time……I guess he was my first book boyfriend, in spite of the way he deceived Jane. But he always adored her, anyway, so by the end of the novel, I had forgiven him. Lol.

    And Nell, I just want to tell you that there are classics and there are classics. Not every book in this category is worthy of high praise. For instance, I HATED (still do) “Wuthering Heights”, and all because of Heathcliff. But “Jane Eyre” is MUCH better, IMHO. You might try it out, and see how you like it.

    Thanks for sharing!! New Bloglovin’ follower!! : )

    Here’s my own FF post:

    http://anightsdreamofbooks.blogspot.com/2015/06/feature-follow-friday-4-required-book.html

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Hopping through. I’ve gone in phases with liking classic books. It’s largely when I get into phases of thinking I “should” read things, which isn’t the right way to go about things. But I haven’t found some classics I liked that way.
    My FF

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

