Chronicles of the Unexplained: True Stories of Haunted Houses, Bigfoot, and Other Paranormal Encounters by Gary Gillespie

UnexplainedTitle: Chronicles of the Unexplained: True Stories of Haunted Houses, Bigfoot, and Other Paranormal Encounters
Author: Gary Gillespie
Publish Date: July 1, 2015
Genre: Nonfiction
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: Chronicles of the Unexplained presents a lifetime of true paranormal experiences. The stories are from a broad range of individuals, many of whom would be the last people you would expect to be willing to communicate with anyone on such subjects. The true tales are interspersed with the story of the author’s own battle with a not-so-hospitable entity and the unforeseen circumstances that were associated with the completion of this book.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

I am the girl that watches an entire horror movie from behind her fingers. I wasn’t always so brave.   When I was little, any mention of a scary movie or story would send me into hysterics. Any thought of things that go bump in the night would cause me to sleep with the light on. But while I was terrified of such things, I was also drawn to the paranormal. I wanted to know more. I wanted to be just a little more scared. I always got my wish.

If you are like me and always want one more scary story, Chronicles of the Unexplained by Gary Gillespie is right down your deserted alley. Chronicles gives its reader one real life terror after another. The stories are short so the reader can’t get too invested before the next scare begins. Some readers love that type of format, but I felt the scare was lessoned by the condensing of the story. But that didn’t stop many of these stories from being fascinating.

Chronicles of the Unexplained has the normal stories of haunted houses and roadway ghosts but Gary Gillespie does a great job of giving us the history and stories of places that I had never read about before. How many of us have photographs of ourselves standing at the four corners, the area where Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico come together? After reading this book, you may never look at that area the same again.

badge3v4Then there is Central City, Colorado that may be the most haunted little town in the United States. I didn’t want this chapter to end. There are enough stories, history, and background for this town to get an in-depth book of its own. So Gary Gillespie, if you are reading this, I want a book on Central City. I think that would be captivating and give me the scare that I am always looking for.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read that kept me entertained with the scares and the background history of many intriguing places. I recommend this book to any paranormal fan out there but only if I get my book on Central City. So please Gary, start writing.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy Face1 paw print – Me reading about ghosts, demons, and monsters is like you reading about shopping at the grocery store. My day job is to reign supreme over all the things that supposedly go bump in the night. I had dinner with the ghost in chapter one last week. She was not happy about how she was portrayed and is looking to sue for slander. Ghosts can be such drama queens sometimes.


If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on July 1, 2015, in 3-Okay, Non-Fiction, Review, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Gary Gillespie

    Ruby Lee…This is Gary..Im gonna start writing!!!….You will get your Central City book. I cant thank you enough for your detailed opinion, It means so much to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Gary,

      I am so glad that you saw the review. I looked for you on different kinds of social media to let you know that it was going to be published. I would love to talk with about Central City.

      Just email me at rubylee5151@gmail.com

      Have a great weekend
      Ruby

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

