Raisonne Curse by Rinda Elliott

RindaGood paranormal romance.  Loved the steamy, swampy setting and the hot, hot romance!  Kind of short for a novel, so watch how much you’re paying. Publisher’s website might be cheaper than Amazon.

Title: Raisonne Curse
AuthorRinda Elliott
Series: The Brothers Bernaux, Book 1
Publish Date: July 14, 2015
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: Breaking her curse will cost him his heart…and possibly his life.

For the past five years, Elita Raisonne has been on the run from a curse that started with her grandmother, and gradually reached out evil tendrils to kill her mother and her aunts. Now, healing from another nasty accident, Elita can feel the curse coming for her like icy breath on the back of her neck.

Her only hope: trek deep into Louisiana’s Atchafayala Basin and ask the mysterious Bernaux brothers for help.

Pryor Bernaux takes one look at the black smudge clinging to Elita like a shroud, and recognizes the work of a powerful hex worker. Together, all three Bernaux brothers could easily break it—if Mercer and Wyatt weren’t away.

As the curse sinks deeper into Elita’s soul, Pryor realizes time is running out for the beautiful redhead who makes him want things he and his brothers swore they’d never have. He has no choice but to help her. But the magical backlash is torture. And without his brothers’ help, it could even be deadly.

Product Warnings
Keep a cold beverage on hand, because the bayou isn’t all that’s hot and steamy in this book. Deadly hexes, naked spellworking, mouthwatering court-bouillon, and sexy Cajuns will curl your toes…and maybe your hair

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

Imagine having to deal with a curse everyday of your life.  That is something that the main character Elita Raisonne has to contend with everyday of her life.  She destroys things just by touching them.  She falls or gets hurt often, sending her to the emergency room and sometimes things she touches can randomly start on fire.  (Those who know me may think that is sounds like my life.  But to reassure you all, I am not cursed.  I am just a klutz.)

Now image that the only person that stands between you and certain pain, dismemberment, and death, is a man that is “walking, talking, bad boy sex… with a crooked grin that let her know he already had corruption in mind.

Raisonne Curse by Rinda Elliot is an enjoyable story of paranormal romance. I love supernatural stories set in the swamps of Louisiana. I’ve visited once and I can completely imagine the how spooky it would be at night with the sounds of the alligators in the water and the snakes hanging from the trees. From the romantic side, I can give it an R rating and it will definitely get readers hot and bothered. Overall the story distracted me from life and that is the #1 quality I look for in anything I read.badge3v4

My main issue with the story is that it was too short.  It bordered right on the edge between being a novella or novel. I felt like there was so much more information that I wanted about this family of brothers that remove curses from others.  I wished I had more backstory and more answers.  I think that would have added a lot of dimension to the book.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy Face2 paw prints – I really enjoyed all the creepy crawly creatures in this book. Now if an alligator had actually eaten someone, I would have given it 4 paw prints. I keep telling Ruby that if I must read romance that she needs to make sure there is blood and guts in the story. Add a couple of brains and few severed limbs and I can go to bed happy.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on July 14, 2015, in 3-Okay, Female, Paranormal Romance, Review, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

