All Ereaders are created equally….right?

516rQPAm4FL._AA160_Um.  Hate to tell ya, but I was wrong.  Again. I fell into an old person’s rut. Something that I swore I would never, ever do.  I practically kicked and screamed all the way to being brought to year 2015.

It’s all Ivana’s fault.  All the blame falls on her.  I was just being smart, frugal and sensible.  I told her that I didn’t need a new Kindle.  My old 2009 version was doing just fine.  Still functional, still held it’s charge – everything was good with the Kindle except the cover’s light kept losing contact with the Kindle battery so it wouldn’t work all the time.  Truly, I didn’t need a new one.

I knew I was on the losing end of the discussion when she patted my hand, shook her head at my stubbornness and told me I was being difficult.  Ivana encouraged me to look into a new Kindle because she said – “Your old one will not last forever and I’m not going to be responsible for the blubbering pile of jello that you will turn into when you have to wait for the new one to be delivered.”  I think she just didn’t want to make the drive up here to be sure the guys with the little white coat that ties in the back got me to the proper ward.

Did I cave in?  Of course I did.  Nobody argues with Ivana and expects to win.  It’s just a fact.kobo-nook-sony-kindle-layed-readers-1306428421

I got my new baby last week.  You know the statement that I made just a few seconds ago about not needing a new KIndle? Yeah.  Well.  I obviously was an ostrich with her head stuck in sand. I was in serious denial.  I’m not going to tell Ivana, though.  I don’t need that grief.

I really didn’t figure there could be much difference between the old and the new Kindle.  Really, I didn’t.  I have since likened the comparison of old vs new Kindle to the dinosaur computers that we used just a few years ago compared to the tablets and smart phones of today.  Side by side comparison of my little wonder vs. my 2009 model Kindle was a revelation. The little Voyage is so awesome!  It’s much smaller than my original Kindle, but the little squirt is awesome for travel.  It’s much lighter weight and I the words are much clearer.  And the name?  How perfect? It sounds like a spaceship ready to transport me to a new place or time!  A few days ago I would have scoffed.  I mean, really, words on an ereader are the same whether old or new, right?   *shaking my head*  I got my mind opened and horizons broadened. I am amazed at the ereader-ereading-ebook-reader-cup-coffee-35162261advancements that can continue being made to an electronic device that already worked very well. The back light is amazing and the glare has been eliminated entirely.  I must say I am thrilled with the little powerhouse.

I have been asked a $24,000 question since the arrival of my Voyage. Will I let my old Kindle rot now that a new version has entered my life?  Um…noooooo.  Why would I do that?  A wise blogger once said “You can never have too many ereaders!”  Amen.  And pass me my Kindle, wouldja?

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on July 22, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh I’m one of those people who upgrade their Kindle with every new version so you’re preaching to the choir! I did hold out a bit for the Voyage though because of the steeper price tag, but then I got one for my birthday this year and it is A-MAAAAZING.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to say that I have two eReader and I like them both for different reasons..give them up..no sir.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I giggled at this, I have been just as hide bound. I had been cruising along on a Nook Simple Touch until the SD card just would not stay engaged. So a friend who had purchased a Voyage gave me her Paperwhite. It has been fascinating and amazing the difference, though for me in switching platforms the biggest thing has been the ease of use with emailing my current books to it. I’ll probably still be a cheap old fuddy duddy about getting anything newer though.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love real book, and I sometimes miss the smell of books. But as I do not have infinite storage space, I also LOVE my Kindle. 🙂

    Like

    • For me it’s my vision. I hated waiting for large font books that never came and squinting when alternatives were not available. I still love to own them and the feel of them, I just love adjustable font size more.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

