The Movie In My Head

MovieNightI have always wondered if other people see a movie in their head when they are reading. I wonder what the characters look like in Ivana’s head compared to mine. We do “book casting” boards on Pinterest. It’s rather fun to search the internet for people who somewhat resemble the character in my stories. It makes the character stronger and it often creates a difference of opinion for Ivana and me. “She looks like this!” “No, she looks like this!”  And then the arguing starts…..

I always thought that it was efficient use of my time to listen to audiobooks instead of reading the book. Sometimes when I’m book-v-movieworking, sewing, cleaning, driving – whatever – I’m listening to an audiobook. Sometimes I catch myself sitting just listening. Poof! There goes my efficiency. I want to give a shout out to Sue Grafton and her Alphabet series. She made me miss my interstate exit and I ended up off course by a good 30 miles due to “E” is for Evidence. When I visit Ivana 3 hours away, the movie is so intense that those hours seem to be the fastest 3 hours when I’m travelling. I rarely see much between here and there, which I wonder – is that dangerous?

books-moviesWhen I see the movie in my head, I see what the characters are wearing, the library they are standing in, the city they are walking in, the monster they are fighting.  Sometimes faces are fuzzy.  Sometimes the monsters take on a totally different look than what is described in the book.  I don’t know why – they just do.  If I’ve listened to a character in a previous “episode” in audiobook form, the narrator’s voice is what I hear in my head.  Sometimes, I buy the audiobook just to hear what the character sounds like. That may sound strange, weird or just plain frivolous, but I think that I get a different perspective of the story.  I also learn how names or foreign words are pronounced…. look at me! Learning while fighting monsters! Go me!

Nell 100Nell’s Book Boards

ivana 100Ivana’s Book Boards (all boards are a work in progress)

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on July 29, 2015, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I find that the casting in my head is based less on the author’s physical description of the character, and more on the character’s voice and actions. Sometimes, I even recast the actors mid-piece. This is true while writing, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

