Mother of Demons by Maynard Sims

Good British paranormal mystery/thriller.  Harry Bailey and Department 18 is involved in another case where a monster needs to be brought to justice……with prejudice.

cover66192-mediumTitle:  Mother of Demons
AuthorMaynard Sims
SeriesDepartment 18 Book 5
Publish Date: August 4, 2015
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Source: Netgalley

Publisher’s Description: The hunt is on! Alice Logan has gone missing, and Harry Bailey and Department 18 have been called to help find her. The main suspect is Anton Markos, a satanic cult leader who has a predilection for young women like Alice. Members of Markos’s cult start turning up dead—shredded by what seems to be a wild animal. Is there a madman within the cult? Or is it something far more horrible?Can Department 18 discover the impossible truth and end the spree of murder, insanity and carnage? Or will they become the prey?  

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel. (In other words… SPOILERS)


Nervous_Nellie_100I’m coming in on Book 5 of the Department 18 series.  I gave Ivana a conniption fit when I told her – she can’t handle not reading series books in order (hee, hee! I love to antagonize her).  If you pick up the book without reading books 1-4, you will not be lost.  You hear that, ‘Vana? *yelling across the editing room* You can figure out the players and pretty much what’s what without a bit of trouble.

Mother of Demons is a good book–a nice, solid I-know-the-good-guys-will-win kind of book. I love those books. This X-files template is relaxing for me.  Good guy cops taking on a caseload of paranormal incidents.  I don’t have to worry about if evil will or will not be vanquished because it will in the end.  That’s the way it is, end of story.

Uh… not quite. These authors threw in a twisty turn or two.  Methamphetamine is a nasty, nasty drug and a young girl hooks up with a “kool-aid” kind of cult leader that provides her however much she needs.  I thought that was the end of the story.  Oh, heck no.  That’s just the beginning!

I have to say that this was a really great read.  I’m not going to spoil anything and let you know the ending, but it isn’t a cliffhanger and again, this book could stand alone with a few minor questions from the reader.

badge4v4I really liked the characters in this book.  Since I didn’t read Books 1-4, I can’t tell you if Harry Bailey is always the protagonist, but if he is, he is golden.  I love this guy.  His team, which I think may vary from story to story, takes on a murder case that has a basis in real life.  Like yours and mine real lives. It could be an episode of the cop show of the week, but with that paranormal twist – THAT is what pulled me in.

Will I go back and read books 1-4?  Yes…..Yes, I believe I will.  It is right up my alley.  Good job, Mr. Maynard & Mr. Sims!

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on August 3, 2015, in 4-Good, Horror, Nervous Nellie, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

