Call of Shadows by Terry Maggert

Welcome to Saturday Shorts where we feature short stories and novellas.  *shiver* This is the prequel to the first “The Fearless” series book, “The Forest Bull“.  It is a short read, but if you aren’t careful, it’ll be bouncing around in your brain for far longer than it took to read it.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

call of shadowsTitleCall of Shadows
Author: Terry Maggert
SeriesThe Fearless Book 0.5
Publish Date: October 10, 2014
Genre:  Horror
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description:  Have you ever seen a roadside cross, and wondered why it was there? What if it isn’t a memorial, signifying a loss and memory of a loved one?
What if the cross is bait? Would you visit a haunted cross? Even if you knew the ghost was real, and had a taste for human flesh?
How badly do you want to find out?

This short story of horror is set in the world of “The Fearless” series.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!)


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

This short story may be short but in no way is it any less powerfully written than the novels.  The description of the monsters hiding in the ditches and cornfields will always come to mind as I pass near those crosses that are keeping sentinel on the rural highways on my to work or play.

badge4v4I am positive this is the description of a serious player in the second book of The Fearless series.  The only way I know that (if, in fact, I am right) is because I read books 1 and 2 before this one.  It seems silly to read it out of order and maybe a little irresponsible, but I did it, so move on.  I don’t think this short would have made the impact it did if I would have read it first.  My advice is to read it first and then read it again after book #2.  It kind of clicked in my brain in one of those “Oh! MY! GOSH!” moments.  Give me a break if you got it before me – I’m not always the sharpest tack in the box!! 😉

Stand Out Award Badge2If you like this book, try…

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on August 8, 2015, in 4-Good, Nervous Nellie, Review, Standout Award, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

