Deception by C.J. Redwine

A lot of people think sequels fall flat. I had no doubt that this series would be one of the exceptions because, you know, it’s C.J. Redwine and she’s amazing! The second book of the Courier’s Daughter trilogy has higher stakes, intense action, and of course more kissing scenes! Be warned readers, spoilers ahead.

DeceptionTitle: Deception
AuthorC.J. Redwine
Series: Courier’s Daughter Book 2
Publication Date: August 27, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionBaalboden has been ravaged. The brutal Commander’s whereabouts are unknown. And Rachel, grief stricken over her father’s death, needs Logan more than ever. With their ragged group of survivors struggling to forge a future, it’s up to Logan to become the leader they need—with Rachel by his side. Under constant threat from rival Carrington’s army, who is after the device that controls the Cursed One, the group decides to abandon the ruins of their home and take their chances in the Wasteland.

But soon their problems intensify tenfold: someone—possibly inside their ranks—is sabotaging the survivors, picking them off one by one. The chaos and uncertainty of each day puts unbearable strain on Rachel and Logan, and it isn’t long before they feel their love splintering. Even worse, as it becomes clear that the Commander will stop at nothing to destroy them, the band of survivors begins to question whether the price of freedom may be too great—and whether, hunted by their enemies and the murderous traitor in their midst, they can make it out of the Wasteland alive.

In this daring sequel to Defiance, with the world they once loved forever destroyed, Rachel and Logan must decide between a life on the run and standing their ground to fight.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.

Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Deception picks up right where Defiance leaves off – Baalboden has been destroyed by the Cursed One and the Commander has teamed up with an army — an army bent on revenge against Logan and Rachel. Now a grief-stricken Rachel and insecure Logan must lead a large party of survivors through the Wastelands – through the untamed wilderness and abandoned cities – while trying to maintain morale and keep everyone alive.  But what starts out as a race against the Commander becomes a fight for survival as the Wastelands fill with danger – and a wolf in sheep’s clothing is picking their numbers off one by one… a traitor that happens to be from Logan’s mysterious past.

Let’s get real here. Even without the army pressing down on them AND even without the saboteur in their midst, the fact that Logan has to step up – while his girlfriend is lost in a storm of emotions, while everything is betting against him – and guide a bunch of inexperienced citizens who are used to their safe walls and lack of knowledge says so much about the strong characters C.J. Redwine writes. Logan’s intelligence and logic follows him throughout the whole series as he navigates through all the stuff I mentioned above. Though he’s not a character who’s entirely confident all the time, he expresses his confidence through Rachel. Logan continues to be one of my favorite lead male characters because of how engaging he simply is. It’s hard to find a teenage boy in books who encompasses both the physical and mental skills girls falls in love with. Not to mention in my head, he’s a little blonde cutie.

I also love Rachel. She’s fierce and I have the feeling that if she existed in some strange universe I was a part of, she’d be the kind of character I’d go “sic ‘em!” and she’d be all over that. She’s a natural fighter – which also means she fights off her feelings too. She’s lost two people already (and loses another halfway through this particular book) and she’s overwhelmed by grief. Though Logan does his best to hold her together, Quinn also steps up and becomes a great friend, supporting her in ways that Logan sometimes can’t. Which of course, causes a bit of friction – but nothing to fear Logan fan girls; we all know who Rachel is meant to be with. But with everything that’s going on, Rachel kind of numbs herself against the pain, an action which allows a certain traitor to take advantage of her.

badge5v4By the end of this book, you’ll be emotionally charged. So much anger, happiness, hope, and despair within one book. It’s beautiful – the way things fall apart – and written in such a way that it gives readers a taste of their own adventure as they follow the perilous journey Logan and Rachel through everything that is thrown at them. This sequel is perfect for people looking for lots of action, mystery, romance, and the one thing you should never give up: hope. Once again, Deception will receives a five from me. C.J. Redwine owns my soul and I like it. 🙂

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

You might try the Fire & Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson, the Legend series by Marie Lu, or the Graceling Realm series by Kristen Cashore.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on August 13, 2015, in All Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: