Lies Ripped Open by Steve McHugh

Are you afraid of Hellequin?  You will be…

Lies Ripped Open Steve McHughTitleLies Ripped Open
Author: Steve McHugh
Series: Hellequin Chronicles Book 5
Publish Date: August 25, 2015
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: NetGalley and Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Over a hundred years have passed since a group of violent killers went on the rampage, murdering innocent victims for fun. But even back then, sorcerer Nate Garrett, aka Hellequin, knew there was more to it than simple savage pleasure—souls were being stolen.

Nate’s discovery of the souls’ use, and of those supporting the group’s plan, made him question everything he believed.

Now the group Nate thought long dead is back. Violent, angry, and hell-bent on revenge, they have Hellequin firmly in their sights. And if he won’t come willingly, they’ll take those closest to him first.

The battle begins again.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel. (In other words… SPOILERS!!)


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

“To friends, to those you love, may you always hold them close.  And to your enemies, may you always make them burn.”

Nathan Garrett is in a league all his own. He is a white hat when there is a choice and he’s dirty player when there is none. Sometimes the only choice there is to make is the one of lesser evil. Nathan’s life has been one for the history books. He was there when Arthur fell to Mordred’s sword. He knows Gods and Goddesses and calls some his friends. He has seen the horrors of war and the devastation it brings with it. None of this compares to the “Lies Ripped Open” in this story.

When a 1600 year sorcerer looks back on his life, he will have known betrayal, but in this book, Nathan learns of the ultimate betrayal from the man he looked up to as…well…..a father. I learned how Merlin’s court is/was and always will be run. Did I make a mistake? Did I mean Arthur’s court? No. Arthur is incapacitated so Merlin runs things. Merlin reveals just how blurry the line has become to him. He admits ruthless things that even his most loyal follower never guessed him capable. Those things, I feel that Nathan far deep down inside knew, but never wanted to believe.

This was not a happy book, though with the Hellequin, it seldom is, however I could always depend on the banter and quick comebacks. There was a few, but not as many as usual. This was a very insightful story if you wanted to get more details about what makes Nathan the Hellequin and the Hellequin Nathan. I gotta tell you, though, I’m worried for him. His marks are disappearing and Erebus makes an appearance again and that’s NEVER good news. Erebus is convinced that as soon as the marks are gone, Nathan will be gone.

badge4v4Ok – enough of that. It’s not my intention to be so serious. This was an awesome book with characters I could see very clearly. I was so excited when I stumbled upon this book at NetGalley, I did a little dance. I love my reviewing life! If that wasn’t enough, I even went into a swoon a few days later when the author messaged me and said, “Hey, Nell – my book is on NetGalley if you want to review it.” I kinda fangirled there for a bit. Really. Hard to believe, I know.

Anyway, please pick this series up. You can read the books as stand alones if you really want to, but I think you’d enjoy them more as a series. There is never a cliffhanger, but there is a lead in to the next book, which if it doesn’t freak me out, it most likely will have no effect on the normal person.

If you like this book, you might try…

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on August 25, 2015, in 4-Good, Male, Nervous Nellie, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

