Deliverance by C.J. Redwine

This is a wonderful, engaging, and riveting trilogy I will reread and enjoy, over and over again. CJ Redwine is an extraordinary author who grabs you heart and soul from beginning to end.

DefianceTitle: Deliverance
Author: C.J. Redwine
SeriesCourier’s Daughter Book 3
Publication Date: August 26, 2014
Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionIn this final installment of C. J. Redwine’s Defiance trilogy, a rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce, Rachel Adams has been kidnapped by enemy forces and is being taken to Rowansmark while her love, Logan McEntire, is imprisoned and awaiting trial, unable to leave Lankenshire. As uneasy alliances are tested and their enemies plot against them, will the two manage to find a way to rid their world of the tyrannical Commander and destroy the tech that controls the deadly Cursed One once and for all?

Major spoilers ahead!


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Oh, where to begin, where to begin. It’s no shock I adore this series – and although I was saddened to see it end, it could not have come more full circle with all my expectations. It soared beyond them, even.

Deliverance begins with a separation of two souls – Rachel has been captured by the enemy, Ian McEntire and the Rowansmark army. We learned in the first two books that Rowansmark is the city-state that believes pain is punishment, and if you can’t survive what you are given, you basically become unworthy. Ian forces Rachel to atone for her crimes and as she comes to terms with the pain embedded within her (as well as physical injuries) she realizes she’s stronger than her despair. Without the blindfold of doubt covering her, she begins to plan. She knows Logan will move heaven and earth to find her – and as you read on, she discovers allies in places she least expects. Quinn is her constant, silent, and ninja-like companion as he evades their enemies through the shadows. And there’s someone in the jail cells – someone she’s believed dead (and no, not her father) and someone who may hold the key to both her and Logan’s salvation.

Logan is imprisoned in Lankenshire, a city-state he thought might ally with them until he brought an entire army bearing down upon them. Trapped in a cell with Willow and some of the Baalboden survivors he trusts most, he struggles to come up with a plan that will best Carrington and Rowansmark’s armies, hopefully gain him allies, and get him back to Rachel. With pain marking every step of his journey, Logan manages to escape with the help of his worst enemy, Commander Chase. Knowing he’s going to be betrayed, he comes up with a plan that will deliver him to Rowansmark and stay one step ahead of everything and everyone that’s betting against him.

Though I won’t divulge on how it ends, I will say that Rachel and Logan eventually meet up and they’ve both come a long way from their dark moments held in Defiance and Deception. They’re stronger. They’re more in love than ever. And they’re ready to face whatever comes at them. A war erupts in Rowansmark and there are losses on both sides. Pain becomes a way to feel alive – and love becomes the bond that holds everyone together as one.

badge5v4CJ Redwine blends multiple storylines together in beautiful sequence, giving it just the right amount of emotion that pulls readers in based on their abilities to relate to the feelings of love, loss, and strength. I’m amazed by her creativity – from the creation of the “Cursed One” or taninnyn, to the use of technology and weaponry, to the beautifully flawed characters that you fall in love more with every page. Great ending to a phenomenal trilogy. Five hearts all the way!

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

You might try the Fire & Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson, the Legend series by Marie Lu, or the Graceling Realm series by Kristen Cashore.

Advertisements

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on August 26, 2015, in 5-Great, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for a great review 😊 I loved this series too! Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello my name is Patricia and I just wanted to drop you a quick note here instead of calling you. I came to your Deliverance by C.J. Redwine | One Book Two page and noticed you could have a lot more hits. I have found that the key to running a successful website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get keyword targeted traffic from and they let you try their service for free for 7 days. I managed to get over 300 targeted visitors to day to my site. http://www.teqdar.net/shortl/6adt

    Like

  1. Pingback: Defiance by C.J. Redwine $1.99 on Kindle | One Book Two

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: