If You Only Knew by Kristan Higgins

Someone told me the other day that all books are made up of the same 26 letters that are just put in different orders.  Well if writing is that easy, why aren’t we all prize winning authors?

51Yb2869hvL._SX313_BO1,204,203,200_Title: If You Only Knew
Author: Kristan Higgins
Publish Date:  August 25, 2015
Genre:  Romance
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description:  Wedding-dress designer Jenny Tate understands the happily-ever-after business, yet somehow she’s still involved in her ex-husband’s life. In fact, Owen’s new wife may—inexplicably—be Jenny’s new best friend. Sensing this, well, relationship isn’t helping her move on, Jenny trades the Manhattan skyline for her hometown up the Hudson, where she’ll be able to bask in her sister Rachel’s picture-perfect family life…and hopefully make one of her own.

Her timing couldn’t be more perfect, since Rachel will need her younger sister. Her idyllic marriage has just fallen to pieces in spectacular fashion after she discovers her husband sexting with one of his colleagues. Second chances aren’t in Rachel’s nature, but the desire for an intact family has her rethinking her stance on adultery, much to Jenny’s surprise. Rachel points to their parents’ “perfect” marriage as a shining example, but to protect her sister Jenny may have to tarnish that memory—and their relationship­—and reveal a secret about their family she’s been keeping since childhood.

During this summer of secrets and lies, temptation and revelation, Jenny and Rachel will rely on each other to find the humor in their personal catastrophes, the joy in their triumphs…and the strength to keep hanging on.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

It just seems that some people are able to take each letter and craft together a masterpiece that a reader can get lost in. Kristan Higgins has that amazing ability to take each of these individual letters and turn them into three dimensional people that I am able to love, hope for, and cry over.

I was a little nervous starting If You Only Knew. The description gave me the sense that this was a slightly different book than Higgins’s past work. I love almost everything that she has written up to this point and didn’t want that magical record broken. I started the first chapter hesitantly but it immediately grabbed my arm and yanked me into the badge5v4deep end of the pool. (I should have worn nose plugs.) The story is different than Higgin’s past work but it only shows that you can improve on something that is already close to perfection.

Rachel and Jenny became real people to me in a matter of pages and I went through many layers of feelings which ranged from happy to exasperated to sad, and finally to content. The story ended well but not in the completely perfect ride off into the sunset sort of way. It was a real ending. This book will easily be one of my top 5 books for the year.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy Face5 paw prints – This is a total spoiler but the dog actually dies. Does a story need anything else? I know the humans get all sad which leads them to sharing their feelings and you know how much I hate that. But the dog actually dies. Best book of the year.


Stand Out Award Badge2Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on August 28, 2015, in 5-Great, Female, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee, Standout Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

