Tall, Dark, and Immortal by Cat Devon

Whoever has the luck to be born a character can laugh, even at death. Because a character will never die!  A man will die, a writer, the instrument of creation: but what he has created will never die! –  Luigi Pirandello (Brainquote.com)

23718100Title: Tall, Dark, and Immortal
Author: Cat Devon
Series: Entity, Book 4
Publish Date:  September 1, 2015
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description:

HE’S TAKING A BITE OUT OF CRIME.
Alex Sanchez is more than just an ordinary detective. He’s on the prowl—as a vampire. Alex uses his unique gifts to police the mean streets of Chicago like a natural predator. But when he learns that local blood banks are being robbed, he’s not sure what rattles him more: the bizarre crime wave or the stunningly beautiful journalist who’s reporting it…

SHE’S RISKING HER NECK FOR A STORY.
Keira Turner is dedicated to her job—and determined to uncover the truth. Dangerously, out-of-this-world handsome Detective Sanchez seems oddly fascinated by the crimes—and obsessed with Keira. Alex might not have a clue who’s stealing blood but he’s sure of one thing: Keira is no mere mortal. She’s descended from a long line of vampire hunters. And if they try to solve this case together, he’ll have to fight the urge to kiss her…or kill her.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

When I was presented with the opportunity to read Tall, Dark, and Immortal by Cat Devon, there were many things that I didn’t know.  I didn’t know that Cat Devon is pseudonym for the award-winning author Cathie Linz. I also didn’t know that Cathie had died this March. As I was researching I found out that Cathie had spent much of her career advocating for librarians and for the romance genre. The fact that I am able to go to my local library and have so many choices of romance literature to pick from is due to her work. She helped to bring the romance genre out of the closet and take its rightful place among all the other types of books. I also learned that the Romance Writers of America permanently changed their Librarian of the Year award to the Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year award.

I felt that all those things were more important to share then just how I felt about Tall, Dark, and Immortal.  I liked the storyline and the characters.  The writing was excellent but I felt too much time was taken by the characters having the same argument over and over again.  This book was a fast read and one that could pull a reader in.  Overall, I would rate it a 3. badge3v4

After I learned about Cathie Linz, I would give her a 5+.  I never knew her but the work she did impacted my life. Even though she is gone, part of her will live on in the characters and books she created.  These were stories that were created from her soul, and those will live forever.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on September 2, 2015, in 3-Okay, Both Genders, Paranormal Romance, Review, Ruby Lee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

