The Forest of Forever by Rob Blackwell

Talk about awesome! Soren Chase rocks the house with twists, turns and blindsides!

Forest of ForeverTitle:  The Forest of Forever
Author: Rob Blackwell
Series: Soren Chase Book 01
Publish Date:  March 24, 2015
Genre:  Horror
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description:  Soren Chase’s life was shattered eight years ago after an encounter with a supernatural being left three friends dead and him branded as a murderer. Since then, he’s become a paranormal investigator, facing off against a host of deadly creatures. But his investigation into the haunted Reapoke woods may be his most dangerous case yet.

Something evil is lurking in the forest. Some say it’s the ghost of a preacher who vanished two centuries ago; others claim the woods are the site of sinister experiments by a shadowy organization. Hired to find a missing girl, Soren is determined to learn the truth. But what he discovers is far darker than he imagines—and it may force him to confront his own tragic past.

From the author of the bestselling Sanheim Chronicles, The Forest of Forever is the start of a new series that mixes urban fantasy, mystery, and suspense into a novel that you can’t put down. Because nothing is what it seems in The Forest of Forever, and once you enter, you may never leave . . .

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, SPOILERS!)


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

First off – Wow.  I was so sure this was going to be a straight forward investigative detective novel that I never even imagined this amount of twists and turns.  I didn’t imagine being blindsided by the revealing details of Soren’s life, however, I was suspicious of a couple of characters that were introduced to the series.

Soren Chase is a good guy.  He’s out to rid the world of nasty monsters because of a nasty monster destroying his life.  What is revealed toward the end is exactly how ruined his life really is.  Soren is depressed and guilt ridden for things that really happened out of his control.  I know we’ve all felt that way at some point in time.

I can’t say with absolute authority that I understand the whole time/pocket dimension that is in the forest of the story, but the author’s writing was descriptive and very well thought out.  After the end battle, I actually stopped and had to think about how all of it fit together.  It was awesome!

There were some spots that I did skip because it felt like a typical horror movie – “Don’t go in there!  Run the other way!” – you know the one – stupid college kids on a weekend trip into a haunted forest.  I’m sure I missed some things, but I really just wanted to get to the nitty gritty of the story.

badge4v4The ending wasn’t EXACTLY a cliffhanger, but I am eager to get Book 2, which Mr. Blackwell has assured me that will be released soon.  If you are nervous about the ending being a “kinda” kind of cliffhanger, let me help you through it.  It’s an enlightening moment and I didn’t feel at loose ends.  There is the part about Sara that made me say, “Whaaaaat?”, but then after I thought a second I thought – “Hey! I get it!  She doesn’t really want……… “  Okay, yeah.  I know.  Don’t spoil it.  I’m stopping there.  After you read it, drop me a line.  I thought it was an awesome read.  A solid 4 all the way.

See my review of the prequel, Closed At Dark.

Stand Out Award Badge2Other reviews:

If you like this book, try…

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on September 8, 2015, in 4-Good, Horror, Nervous Nellie, Review, Standout Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. What a fun review. I like the part where you discussed skipping the too scary scenes. This sounds like on an the edge of your seat supsenseful read. I am glad it ended up surprising you.

    Liked by 2 people

  1. Pingback: Nell’s Gossip and Sunday Book Hunt 1/8/17 | One Book Two

  2. Pingback: Nell’s Gossip and Sunday Book Hunt 1/22/2017 | One Book Two

  3. Pingback: The Woman in the White Mask by Rob Blackwell | One Book Two

  4. Pingback: Nell’s Gossip 2/5/2017 | One Book Two

Leave a Reply

