Rogue by Rachel Vincent

Rogue is a good story, one filled with more mystery than the first book, but still overall a great fantasy.

RogueTitle:  Rogue
Author:  Rachel Vincent
Series: Werecats Book 02
Publish Date:  April 1, 2008
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Okay, so cats don’t always land on their feet.

I know that better than most. Since rejoining the Pride, I’ve made big decisions and even bigger mistakes: the kind paid for with innocent lives. As the first and only female enforcer, I have plenty to prove to my father, the Pride, and myself. And with murdered toms turning up in our territory, I’m working harder than ever, though I always find the energy for a little after-hours recreation with Marc, my partner both on- and off-duty.

But not all of my mistakes are behind me. We’re beginning to suspect that the dead are connected to a rash of missing human women and that they can all be laid at my feet–two or four, take your pick. And one horrible indiscretion may yet cost me more than I can bear…

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

In this second installment to the Shifters series, Faythe is back at her home Pride and playing with the big boys as she learns how to be the only female Enforcer (kind of like an officer and protector of the Pride). Dead bodies are piling up in werecat territories. Romantic tensions between Faythe and Marc flare up again. And a mistake she made months ago has come back to bite her – hard.

Rogue focuses on more world building rather than introducing the characters like Stray did, though readers are given a better sense of character personalities – like how Owen views the world through innocent eyes, how smart Michael is compared to his brothers’ brute strength, how close Ethan and Faythe are, and how badass her mother really is. This story also goes into more complex details into the lives of Strays, DNA of werecats, and how werecat territories and societal rules work. Again, I’m amazed by how werecat life functions in the author’s mind and how easily it’s portrayed by the readers.

I really love the witty and sarcastic thoughts Faythe has in her mind. She’s still got a stubborn streak, especially when it comes to the love she shares with Marc and reservations she has about her family, but she’s coming along better in this sequel.

badge5v4The action scenes in this book are more intense than the first one and the cliffhangers at the end of some chapters are epic; (I love me some cliffhangers too). I love how Faythe’s past comes haunting and her past choices have finally caught up with her. Not only does Marc throw marriage into her face but she unintentionally created a killer – and now she’s paying for it by going on trial in front of the other Alphas.

Another big shiny five for Rachel Vincent.

Links…

See my review of the first book, Stray.  I’ll be reviewing the rest of the series over the coming weeks.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

… you might like the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelly Armstrong, the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter, or the Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on October 1, 2015, in 5-Great, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

