Pride by Rachel Vincent

Bruins! That’s what made this story for me. In this third sequel, we’re introduced to a lot of new characters and werebears just happen to be one of them. Of course, there’s also the plethora of werecats from other territories – some of them good, some of them bad. Major spoilers ahead for this review!

PrideTitle:  Pride
Author:  Rachel Vincent
Series: Werecats Book 03
Publish Date:  February 1, 2009
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: I’m on trial for my life. Falsely accused of infecting my human ex-boyfriend–and killing him to cover up the crime. Infecting a human is one of three capital offenses recognized by the Pride–along with murder and disclosure of our existence to a human.I’m two for three. A goner.

Now we’ve discovered a rogue stray terrorizing the mountainside, hunting a wild teenage tabbycat. It’s up to us to find and stop him before a human discovers us. With my lover Marc’s help, I “think” I can protect the vulnerable girl from both the ambitious rogue and the scheming of the territorial council.

“If” I survive my own trial…

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Faythe is in trouble – on trial for her life after being accused of infecting her ex-boyfriend Andrew with the werecat virus and then killing him to cover up said crime. Though she’s technically guilty of both, the council doesn’t know or understand the technicalities of her mistakes. After a mistake made in feverish love-making, she transmitted the virus onto Andrew – he became a Stray and the comical, innocent ex-boyfriend from college also turned into a vengeful, angry tom cat bent on taking Faythe out. Forced to defend herself, Faythe kills him in a fight at the end of Rogue. However, circumstances pending, the Council doesn’t quite get the picture. They think she did both on purpose and want her to pay for her crimes.

So the Sanders Pride meets up with the other Pride territory leaders at a lodge for her trial – and up in the mountains, a teenage tabby cat being stalked by a Stray is discovered. Faythe, being the only girl present, is lured in by the disoriented and terrified girl who doesn’t understand how shapeshifting works – or how she became a werecat. Together, they’re able to get the maniacal Stray off her back. Especially since they have help from a werebear – who’s pretty awesome in my opinion.

But Faythe’s troubles are only beginning. There’s discordance between the Alphas and it all somehow leads back to her and how much trouble she’s caused. Malone, one of the werecat leaders, has always been at odd with Faythe’s father and now he’s not holding back. Though I won’t go into detail about how badly things end, just know that a war is brewing between territories – and some won’t come out unscathed.

I’ll say again with how impressed I am at the world building. However, in this one, the details are almost too much. Though I was able to understand what was going on the entire time, I found myself forgetting odd things and having to go back to reread simply because I was on information overload. There’s a lot the author introduces in this one, on top of the plot and sub-plots. I just felt like a lot of stuff got buried under all the descriptions.

badge4v4However, the action was nice and the emotions were high. Marc and Faythe are still playing games with each other, but the game Malone and his allies have to offer is far worse. I love the cliffhangers in this story – ones that develop and take shape in both Prey and Shift.

I give this one a shiny four.

Links…

See my reviews for Stray (Book 01) and Rogue (Book 02).  I’ll be reviewing the rest of the series in the coming weeks.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

… you might like the Women of the Otherworld by Kelly Armstrong, the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter, or the Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn.  Also, the character of Abby, introduced in this series, has her own spin-off in the novella, Hunt, and the novel, Lion’s Share.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on October 8, 2015, in 4-Good, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

