Nell’s Book Hunt

200 baby

Izzy, the hurricane

Writing reviews is sometimes very difficult.  How do you come up with the right words to describe yet one more AWESOME book?  Give it a shot and tell ’em what you feel is the best advice I have.

A reviewer doesn’t usually need hindrances to bring their writing to a complete and utter stop.  Time is of essence and deadlines wait for no one.  Well…..maybe they wait for kittens.  She decided that of all the comfortable spots in the house, my notebook looked the best.  “Shove her down!” I heard from someone in the back.  *shudder* I cannot do THAT!  It is a general rule that if any sort of animal has selected me for any sort of affection or comfort, I cannot move until they decide to find another spot…..or if I have to pee.  Hence, my reviews will have to wait.

Okay, on to the book hunt.  This is a slight variance from the norm.  The blurb sounded like a good book/good series13563019 to give a whirl.  Plus, the guy on the front looked really good.  Can’t help it.  Judging books by covers will someday get me into trouble, I know!  Anyway, it’s free on Kindle | Nook today.

Title:  Rise of the Fallen
Author: Donya Lynne
Series: All the King’s Men 01
Publisher’s Description: In the streets of Chicago exists an uneasy, centuries-old truce between vampires and their distant cousins, a race of shifters called drecks. Vampire enforcement agency, All the King’s Men (AKM), is charged with maintaining the truce, but when volatile enforcer Micah Black loses his mate and falls into the biological agony that results from the broken bond, he tests the boundaries of the truce by seeking out Apostle, a leader in the dreck community. Micah wants Apostle to kill him, a request Apostle is more than happy to fulfill.

When ex-Army medic Samantha Garrett inadvertently disrupts the plot and saves Micah’s life, a chain reaction sets Micah’s heart on a collision course with Sam’s, but he will have to protect her from Apostle and her obsessive ex-husband, Steve, if they will have a chance at forever. Can Micah hold his emotions together to keep Sam alive?

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on October 11, 2015, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m aghast, how would the kitten sleep if you just shoved her off?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Right? Despite the fact that my pups will jump up from whatever comfortable position they are in to bark at two molecules scraping together, if one of them is laying on me, I can’t possibly move them. It’s cruel! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

