Dead Things by Stephen Blackmoore

When Eric’s sister goes missing, he’ll do anything to find her killer–including stepping back into a past he’s avoided for years, and signing on to be the enforcer of an insane Goddess of Death.

Dead ThingsTitle:  Dead Things
Author:  Stephen Blackmoore
Series: Eric Carter Book 1
Publish Date:  August 5, 2015
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased from GraphicAudio.net

Publisher’s Description: Necromancer is such an ugly word, but it’s a title Eric Carter is stuck with.

He sees ghosts, talks to the dead. He’s turned it into a lucrative career putting troublesome spirits to rest, sometimes taking on even more dangerous things. For a fee, of course.

When he left LA fifteen years ago, he thought he’d never go back. Too many bad memories. Too many people trying to kill him.

But now his sister’s been brutally murdered and Carter wants to find out why.

Was it the gangster looking to settle a score? The ghost of a mage he killed the night he left town? Maybe it’s the patron saint of violent death herself, Santa Muerte, who’s taken an unusually keen interest in him.

Carter’s going to find out who did it, and he’s going to make them pay.

As long as they don’t kill him first.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

I read Dead Things when it first came out in Feb of 2013.  It seemed like an incredibly long wait for Book Two, Broken Souls, in August of 2014.  And now an even longer wait for the yet unpublished Book Three, Hungry Ghosts.  I’ve been putting off reading Broken Souls because I needed to reread Dead Things to remember what happened.

So when GraphicAudio.net shared a Twitter post about Dead Things being in audio, I whooped!  I really like the GraphicAudio offerings — at least the ones I’ve heard so far — so I snatched the recording up fast!

Though the main narrator isn’t the voice I would have imagined for Eric, I got used it quickly.  There was a lot of drinking and falling down sounds that got a little repetitive after a while.  But aside from those minor nit-picks, I really liked the production.

This isn’t really a feel-good, happy ending book.  I remember feeling really bad for the protagonist, both the first time I read the book and this time, because he’s totally being played.  But I’m really looking forward to seeing him get justice, or revenge, in the upcoming books.

badge3v4If you like grittier urban fantasy, I’d certainly check this out in either book or audio — but the GraphicAudio production is really fun.

Nervous Nellie says…Nervous_Nellie_100

I loved this book.  I read it and then I listened to it on Graphic Audio nearly a year later.  If it can be compared to a fine wine that gets better with age, I will do it.

This is a extremely gritty urban fantasy.  The protagonist “thinks” he knows what’s going on and he’s all-fired confident that there is nothing he doesn’t know.  Whoa.  That’s when the fates decide to do a smack up side the head.

There is one sex scene (nothing graphic), plenty of death and violence and also some foul words, but it can’t be gritty without the foul words.  Be sure you have the next book ready to go after you finish this one because you will wish to start it immediately.  I have to warn readers out there that there really isn’t a roses and rainbow ending where everything is all good and right with the world, because it isn’t.  Like I said,  have book #2 ready and waiting because it’s necessary.

badge4v4The story seems pretty straight forward murder mystery hunt, but the further into the story the further down the rabbit hole does the protagonist go.  Eric Carter might know his stuff, but that doesn’t mean he doesn’t get his ass handed to him time and again.  Then again, regular people would be a smear on the wall whereas he isn’t.

This book is a definite page turner or “one sit wonder” meaning I couldn’t put it down and had to finish it in one sitting.

Other reviews:

If you like this book…

…you might try the Felix Castor series by Mike Carey, the Joe Pitt series by Charlie Huston, or We Are Not Good People by Jeff Somers.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on October 12, 2015, in 3-Okay, Invested Ivana, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So this is the audiobook of Dead Things? I thought GraphicAudio was all graphic novel adaptations, this is interesting! I’ll have to check out their offerings. This book has been on my list for a while, and from what I know of the author on Twitter, he’s got a great sense of humor which is a good sign I’ll like his work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They do a lot of that, but they also do dramatized novels — Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Action, and Westerns. I’ll be posting my review of Eric Carter Book 2 in a couple of weeks.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Broken Souls by Stephen Blackmoore | One Book Two

  2. Pingback: Nell’s Gossip and Sunday Book Hunt 10.23 | One Book Two

  3. Pingback: Hungry Ghosts by Stephen Blackmoore | One Book Two

Leave a Reply

