Black Creek Crossing by John Saul

We intended to review Boundary Crossed by Melissa F. Olson today for its release.  However, it didn’t quite happen.  So stay tuned for our almost-release day review on Friday!

How great is the author that first sparked your love for reading?   They will live forever in a special place in your heart.

421416Title: Black Creek Crossing
Author: John Saul
Publish Date:
March 16, 2004
Genre:
Horror
Source:
Bridges Online Library

Publisher’s Description: The dark history and dire secrets of a peaceful small town are summoned from the shadows of the past. Unholy forces are stirred from long slumber to monstrous new life. And two young misfits discover the chilling art of turning persecution into retribution. With these eerie ingredients, bestselling master John Saul once again works his unique brand of sinister magic to conjure an unforgettable tale of unspeakable terror.

For most of her young life, thirteen-year-old Angel Sullivan has been on the outside looking in, enduring the taunts of cruel schoolmates and the angry abuse of a bitter father. Then Angel’s family moves to the quaint town of Roundtree, Massachusetts—where a charming home is available, a promising job awaits Angel’s unemployed father, and most of all, the chance to make a new start beckons to the shy, hopeful teenager. But when she is shunned by her new classmates, Angel falls deeper into despair. Until she meets Seth Baker, a fellow outcast—and a fateful kinship is forged.

It’s Seth who tells Angel the unspoken truth about the legacy of murder that hangs over her family’s home—and the whispered rumors that something supernatural still dwells there. Uncertain whether the stories are true, and desperate to escape the torment of their daily lives, Angel and Seth devote themselves to contacting whatever restless soul haunts the dark recesses of Black Creek Crossing. But once they have begun, there is no turning back.

Guided by an anguished and vengeful spirit, they uncover the shocking events and centuries-old horrors that lay buried beneath the placid veneer of Roundtree. And along with the ghastly revelations comes a terrifying power—one that feeds upon the rage of the victimized, turning the basest impulses and most dangerous desires into devastating weapons. Now, the closer Angel and Seth are pushed toward the edge by their tormentors, the deeper they descend into the maelstrom of dark forces they’ve unleashed . . . and the more unspeakable the hour of reckoning will be.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

When I was a teenager, I didn’t go for the romantic, happy ending type of books. I loved horror and suspense and the ambiguity of an unclear ending. I had several go to authors like Stephen King and Christopher Pike but the author I sought out the most was John Saul.

Every summer his latest best seller would be released as a paperback and my mom would buy it for me as my summer vacation treat. Family vacations usually involved a long car ride so mom would not give me the book until we set off on this journey. She also knew to hide each book well or I would find it and read it before vacation.

As I grew older, I continued to buy each of his books as they were released, but I didn’t always read them. Believe it or not, there was a time when I had too much to do and didn’t read. I first had college, then grad school, then moving and first jobs. I continued to buy books, but I didn’t get around to reading them. As my life became more routine, I was bit again by the reading bug and several years later, here we are.

John Saul stopped publishing new novels in 2009. Since then it looks like some of his work have become graphic novels or have been recorded as audiobooks but there has been nothing new. When I returned to my normal reading self, I had five of his books left to read. I savor them because I know these will probably be the last books from him. Three days ago, I needed a good horror story so I selected Black Creek Crossing.

The book immediately picked me up, took me into its pages and didn’t let me go. I love John Saul’s multi-dimensional characters. Many times in his stories, nobody is completely good or completely bad. In thisbadge4v4 story, you had to decide if witchcraft is evil if you use it to protect yourself and if there are people that are evil enough that they deserve to die. The book also ended in John Saul’s normal style of warning the reader that there is more come and nothing has been truly settled.

I read until 2 a.m., and I felt like a teenager again binging on one of John Saul’s books. The non-teenage parts of me were not so happy about it the next day, but it was exactly what my spirit needed.

But now I only have two John Saul books left.  I think I will hoard them for a little while longer, maybe until the next decade or so.  I wouldn’t want to rush things.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy Face

5 paw prints – Finally we read a book that does not have a happy ending and it also has a demon cat that practices witchcraft and rises from the dead. It has been such a long time since I have had a good role model to look to for inspiration. If I had a picture of him, I would hang it next to my cat tree so I could dream about him at night. I want a sequel to this story starring the demon cat. I think it could become a franchise.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on October 13, 2015, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Horror, Review, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

