Prey by Rachel Vincent

The fourth book in the Shifters series is my favorite. Filled with lots of action, new romance, sad and tender moments, and my favorite fantasy style of shapeshifting, this sequel has so many moments I couldn’t bear to stop reading. This is the one book I couldn’t put down. Small spoilers, nothing major even if you haven’t read the series.

PreyTitle:  Prey
Author:  Rachel Vincent
Series: Werecats Book 04
Publish Date:  July 1, 2009
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Sometimes playing cat and mouse is no game…

Play?

“Right.”

My Pride is under fire from all sides, my father’s authority is in question and my lover is in exile. Which means I haven’t laid eyes on Marc’s gorgeous face in months. And with a new mother “and” an I-know-everything teenager under my protection, I don’t exactly have time to fantasize about ever seeing him again.

Then our long-awaited reunion is ruined by a vicious ambush by strays. Now our group is under attack, Marc is missing and I will need every bit of skill and smarts to keep my family from being torn apart. Forever.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Marc, Faythe’s lover, has been exiled. Her father’s loyalty and authority is under fire. And there are attacks from all sides – Malone’s ruthless Pride and vicious Strays. Faythe never gets a break in this book because it’s one thing after another, disaster after disaster, each as heartbreaking as the last.

Faythe is finally coming into her role as an Enforcer. She’s stronger now and she’s taken responsibility of Kaci and Manx, two vulnerable tabbies who are plunged into a war between Prides; Faythe is left to protect them both and the poor girl is barely escaping probation herself. Attacked by strays and backstabbed by Malone’s Shifters, Faythe loses her sanity a little in this one, especially after the murder of a very close family member.

The best part in my opinion – only because I’m a little biased towards a specific sexy shape shifter – is that she finds comfort in someone other than Marc. And that puts ohhhhh so much stress on her. But I like it. It mixes the emotional in with the structural plot. Because we all knew it was bound to happen once Faythe got drunk enough to drown out her sorrow (because she’s a fun drunk, let’s just say that).

badge5v4Emotionally gripping and non-stop action. Some of the other werecats are learning how to partially shift and that throws a wrench into some enemy plots. Marc is a beast in this one and Faythe isn’t far behind; she gets to play good cop/bad cop in this and her personality really shows off. I love these characters more with each book. Prey gets a five from me for all the good stuff.

Links…

See our reviews of the previous books in this series:

I’ll be reviewing the rest of the books in the series in the coming weeks.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

… you might like the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelly Armstrong, the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter, or the Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on October 15, 2015, in 5-Great, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

