Boundary Lines by Melissa F. Olson

Olson’s best book yet, Boundary lines is action-packed and intense.

25271794Title: Boundary Lines
Author: Melissa F. Olson
Series: Boundary Magic Book 02
Publish Date: October 13, 2015
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: Fitting into the Old World isn’t going very well for Boulder boundary witch Allison “Lex” Luther: she may have earned a place in a vampire’s service, but now it seems as if every supernatural creature in town has found a reason to hate her. And when Lex and her partner are assigned to investigate the suspicious disappearance of two vampires during the night of the full moon, they find themselves with more questions than answers.

Was it murder…or mutiny?

The crusade for answers will lead Lex all over the Colorado Old World, from a prison cell for a broken werewolf to a haunted Denver brothel. And when Lex determines the responsible party, the hunt is just beginning: something has been awakened in Boulder, something as old and powerful as it is terrifying. Only the woman with death in her blood can stop what’s coming.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (in other words, Spoilers!).


Nervous_Nellie_50Well, I’m finished with Boundary Lines! Have you grown tired of waiting on me?!?!

Invested_Ivana 50Nah, I just went on to read other books. 🙂 What did you think? Good, wasn’t it?  There were so many different things happening!

Nervous_Nell 50It was the best book yet! There is something about Melissa Olson’s writing that just sucks me in. Since I had a lot of “life” junk going on, I didn’t want to start it until I could focus. I’m glad I did because I opened the book and couldn’t put it down.

Invested_Ivana 50I surprised myself. You know how I have to reread the previous book when a new one comes out. I didn’t reread Book 1, but had no trouble following Book 2. That made my really happy.

Nervous_Nell 50Have you talked with Melissa Olson? Is she a pretty cool author?

Invested_Ivana 50I haven’t yet. But she seems like she’d be fun to chat with. Maybe we’ll run into her at a book event somewhere, or maybe we can get her Authorgraph. I adore the world she’s created.

Nervous_Nell 50I agree. I love Lex. She is everything a hero should be. I’m not sure if I agree with her hooking up with Quinn, but I’m sure the author knows best…

Invested_Ivana 50Quinn’s turned out okay for a vampire.  I’ll give him a chance. 😉


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

“I was clubbed down by a chunk of meat the size of a basketball.”

The Author does it again. I thought that the first book in the Boundary Magic series was really good. If I thought Boundary Crossed was really good, then Boundary Lines is…..well…. like magic!  The characters are vibrant and the story pulled me in from start to finish.  Lex is back to assess the situation with more attitude and quick thinking that only makes the story that much better.. She uses little to no magic this time around but hey! calm down! Simon and Lily are in this story too!

Lex is a character I can really get behind. She shows no fear which is either stupid or impressive. I think I’ll go with impressive because I know what kind of chicken I am. Lex has gone through a lot within the last few years of her life and she is broken, but it is an honorable broken.

I learned a lot about Lex’s world through this story. I learned a little more about Maven’s history (which is pretty darn cool), I learned a little more about Lex’s traumatic experience in the Iraqi desert. I learned more about the covenant between the witches and Maven, the fading ley lines and how to heal a crazy werewolf. Is that all, you ask? Uh…..no-o-o.

It seems that there is a gigantic komodo dragon/anaconda/scaly, scary fanged wormy thing is on the loose. It’s eating people and it’s creating such a stir it’s hard to hide it from the normals. The cops are involved and that’s never convenient for Lex. Luckily, she has Simon, Lily and Quinn to help her.

To make things a little weirder, the witches and werewolves are acting all juiced up. There are remnants and wraiths showing up along with this power boost and as Maven’s Lieutenant, Lex gets to figure out the where, who and why.  The clincher to that sentence is that as a boundary witch, Lex can’t see ghosts. Why does that matter, you ask? Well, you see, there is a resource that Lex can tap, but unfortunately she’s….um…dead…..and a ghost or wraith or whatever you wanna call her. I think that was one of the best scenes in the book – along with the grenade in the worm trick.

badge5v4Melissa Olson nailed this story. The story starts with one thing which leads to another which leads to something else and all these things need to be prioritized, but they all need to be fixed….like yesterday.  There were twists where I expected turns and turns that made me go “Whaaa??” It was excellent. Oh, and one last thing? John has a girlfriend and it’s NOT Lex. Hmmmmm……..

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

“…I could only fight evil so long without a bra.”

I think I said this back when I reviewed Boundary Crossed, but I’ll say it again — I really like the Old World universe Melissa Olson has created. In both her Scarlett Bernard series and in her Boundary Magic series, there are distinct creatures with different characteristics and roles within the magical community, a consistent set of rules for magic, and yet still always more to learn.

In Boundary Lines, we learn a bit more about the nature of magic and about the relationship between witches and vampires in Boulder. We get a great Old World history lesson, as well, that includes the werewolves. We learn even more about boundary witches and about Lex’s past as well. I love it when a complex world is built slowly over time; it is certainly one of the elements that keeps me coming back to a series.

I’m kicking myself, though, that I didn’t do more research into the novella, Malediction, before I started Boundary Lines. I saw there was a new Old World novella and even bought it, but got caught up in life and didn’t realize it fell between this book and the previous. Not reading the novella didn’t do any harm–Olson sums up what you need to know–but I do so like to read things in order. Plus, Lex gets to meet Scarlett in the novella, and I don’t want to miss that!

badge4v4Boundary Lines grabbed my attention from the very first page and I enjoyed every bit of the story. If you haven’t tried Melissa F. Olson’s series, you’re missing out. I highly recommend them both.

See our reviews for…

Stand Out Award Badge2Other reviews…

If you like this book…

If you haven’t yet, you might try the Scarlett Bernard series by the same author, and certainly pick up the novella Malediction, which features both “Lex” and Scarlett and falls between Boundary Crossed and Boundary Lines. There are a couple other novellas set in this world, too: Bloodsick (which features a character from Boundary Lines) and Sell-By-Date.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on October 16, 2015, in 4-Good, 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Review, Standout Award, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

