Shift by Rachel Vincent

The writing in Shift is brilliant as always and the Thunderbirds are a unique addition to the shapeshifter category. I wish she would have had included even more types of shapeshifters in the series!

ShiftTitle:  Shift
Author:  Rachel Vincent
Series: Werecats Book 05
Publish Date:  February 17, 2010
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Being the first female werecat enforcer isn’t easy. Scars accumulate, but I’m stronger in so many ways.

As for my personal life? It’s complicated. Choices worth making always are. Ever since my brother’s death and my father’s impeachment, it’s all I can do to prevent more blood from spilling. Now our Pride is under attack by a flight of vicious thunderbirds. And making peace with our new enemies may be the only way to get the best of our old foe.

With the body count rising and treachery everywhere, my instincts tell me to look before I leap. But sometimes a leap of faith is the only real option…

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Vicious new thunderbird shapeshifters, freshly accumulated scars, and Faythe on tequila. That’s what book five of the Shifter series brings us. Emotionally charged from her brother’s death and the anger behind all the backhanded attacks from Malone’s forces, Faythe has to step it up with her family.

Together, she, Jace, and Marc must fight off vicious vulture-like shifters hired by Malone and prove to them he’s their real enemy. Forced to gain evidence for their claims, Faythe – and the two men she happens to be in love with – must cross enemy lines and get out alive. The danger reaches a whole new level and the tension is strong; especially when romantic secrets are involved and suddenly, old wounds cause fresh tears within the Pride, tearing apart the trust between Marc and Faythe.

badge4v4Though this book has a lot of action and I love the introduction of the Thunderbirds as a species… it dragged for me. I found myself wishing I was on the final book already because it seemed like the same story from Prey was repeating, only with birds instead of panthers. That being said, it isn’t a bad book, not at all, because it’s still getting a four from me. But I think it’s more of a transitional book than a plot-twister and it just didn’t do it for me like Prey and Alpha do.

Links…

See our reviews of the previous books in this series:

I’ll be reviewing the rest of the books in the series in the coming weeks

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

… you might like the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelly Armstrong, the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter, or the Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on October 22, 2015, in 4-Good, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

