Nell’s Opinion and Sunday Book Hunt

12019820_484485318402185_8985604681969462525_nThis picture was sent to me by a very smart man.  He didn’t create this little gem, but he knows comfort when he sees it.  When I was a kid, I had one of those giant blue bean bag chairs (at least it was giant when I was little).  I loved that chair.  However you plopped into it was instant comfort and if it wasn’t quite right, a little butt wiggle would make it better.  I could use part of the bean bag as a book stand after I karate chopped it to make a dent.  Needed a nap?  No problem.  Needed a drink holder?  No problem – unless I moved without thinking and turned my drink holder into a drink flow-er.  This new chair has a built in blanket and pillow.  I would never have to move.  Give me my kindle and I’ll be all set to go.

********One tiny little bit of new/old business.  Got a email this week from an upset reviewer that saw this post by Read What I Like reviewer  Bookish Thoughts: Bully Authors.

Behavior like what this reviewer experienced is really sad.  However, if she wrote a poor review, which being a librarian, I doubt she did, then the author has a reason to feel badly.  Not badly enough to harass another person, though.  I’m still puzzled over that behavior although I know it exists-it shouldn’t, but it does.  To you authors out there who have a mean streak:  Are you sure you want the reputation a reviewer could give you for being mean?  Being a reviewer is a powerful position.  Don’t be stupid, Mr. or Ms. author who has a mean streak. Are you sure you want a fight you can’t win?  The same goes for reviewers.  Authors have a network just like we bloggers do, and I’m sure it would not be fun to be on their list of bad reviewers.  Reviewing and writing are very powerful tools. One that none of us should ever take lightly.  If you hate a book, then be diplomatic – not hurtful.  Same goes for authors.  If you hate a review, consider if it’s well written and thought out.  If it’s just a rant – don’t worry about it.  Here is some well thought out and well delivered advice from Author James A. Hunter:  Handling Bad Reviews.

In summary, We are book people.  We need to stand together instead of……not. Don’t be mean.  It’s not worth it.*******

Sunday Book Hunt!       Free on Kindle!

Title:  Generic Vampire Novel 937image
Author: CZ Hazard

Description:  When cult science fiction novelist Shamus Ohio wrote his latest book, Horrorcaust, he expected it to appease his publishers and earn him a small paycheck. Instead, it re-defined the public perception of the “vampyre” for an entire generation.

With mainstream success, Shamus comes face to face with the real blood-sucking parasite: the media. Everyone wants a piece of Shamus, as the mass hysteria surrounding his novel and the fight for control of his intellectual property threaten to tear his mind and conscience apart.

When fact starts mirroring fiction with deadly results, can the writer be held responsible? Can anyone achieve mainstream popularity without selling their soul? Can any piece of fiction make the leap from one medium to another with its core intact? What exactly is Parma ham, and why do people insist on serving it with rocket? All of these questions and more will be asked, if not answered.

The first of a two-part satirical vampire novel, for people who may already dislike vampire fiction, new-media, the film industry, hyperbole, social media, the 24-hournews culture and other day-to-day trappings of post-millennial life.

:

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on October 25, 2015, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

