White Trash Zombie Gone Wild by Diana Rowland

Will Angel go back to her life of drug addiction or stay on the straight and narrow? I’ve been waiting for what feels like a long time to find out!

White Trash WildTitle:  White Trash Zombie Gone Wild
Author: Diana Rowland
Series: White Trash Zombie Book 05
Publish Date:  October 6, 2015
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Provided by Audible Studios

Publisher’s Description: Angel Crawford has buried her loser past and is cruising along in undead high gear—that is, until a murder-by-decapitation sends her on a hazardous detour. As Angel hunts for the killer, she uncovers a scheme that would expose zombies to the public and destroy the life she’s built, and she’s determined not to rest until she finds out who’s behind it.

Soon she’s neck-deep in lies, redneck intrigue, zombie hunters, and rot-sniffing cadaver dogs. It’s up to her to unravel the truth and snuff out the conspiracy before the existence of zombies makes headline news and she’s outed as a monster.

But Angel hasn’t quite escaped the pill-popping ghosts of her past—not with an illicit zombie pharmaceutical at her fingertips. Good thing she’s absolutely sure she can handle the drug’s unpredictable side effects and still take down the bad guys…or maybe she’s only one bad choice away from being dead meat—for real this time.

Angel knows a thing or two about kicking ass, but now the ass she needs to kick might be her own.

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS.  BE WARNED.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

For fifteen months, I have been incredibly anxious about the fate of Angel Crawford. When we last saw Angel, she was in her car shooting up with a zombie combat mod–a drug to enhance performance in combat–she had left over from the rescue mission in New York.

Angel has worked so hard to get free of drugs and get a life she feels is worth living. She has a good job, supportive friends, is going to school, is getting along great with her dad… and yeah, zombie, but it’s manageable. I was SOOOOOOO worried that she’d start slipping back into a drug habit and lose all she’s been working toward.

And she does screw up pretty badly. In an attempt to  keep herself supplied with the drug, she puts Phillip, her zombie-baby with a damaged parasite, at great risk, along with her relationship with the Clan, the lab, the morgue, and her dad. Though I’m not typically a nervous reader (that’s Nell’s job), I will tell you that though she screws up, Angel gets it right in the end and I am so relieved!

In addition to dealing with her backslide into addiction, Angel also has to deal with being hunted, of course. The evil Dr. Kristi Charish is once again trying to get Angel captured or killed for her own nefarious purposes. And all of this is happening during a huge Zombie-fest celebrating the launch of the movie that was being filmed in Angel’s hometown two books ago–High School Zombie Apocalypse!!!. I really like that Rowland brought the movie back around into the story; it’s a nice bit of continuity.

I have to say, Allison McLemore does an amazing job narrating this series. I love her voices for Angel, her dad, Nick, and all the others. She does a great job of making each character a unique voice so I can keep them straight in my head. I really need to find out what else she narrates.

badge5v4I rarely give extreme ratings, preferring to keep a neat and tidy bell curve. But this book and series, particularly in audio, is really, really good. I’m awarding it a fat five! 🙂

If you’re a frequenter of this site, the name Kristi Charish might ring a bell with you. The *real* Dr. Kristi Charish is not evil at all (well, maybe just a little). She is, in fact, the author of Owl & the Japanese Circus and Owl and the City of Angelsbooks Nell and I just reviewed a while ago. Kristi consulted with Diana on some of the sciencey-zombie stuff in series (see, just a *little* evil), and so made her way into the White Trash Zombie novels as a character.

Speaking of things related to White Trash Zombie books (at least in my head), I have to take just a minute to mention the TV show iZombie. Have you watched it? It’s a great, great show, and I recommend it just as highly as I recommend the White Trash Zombie series. It is also about a white-haired female zombie who works in a morgue to get brains; but the story is significantly different. I will admit, I was SUPER indignant on Diana’s behalf when advertisements for this show first appeared… until I did my homework. iZOMBIE is actually a comic book started in 2010 (prior to Angel’s first book), and then adapted for the small screen in 2014. However, the protagonist in the original comic was a grave digger, not a morgue tech, so I still have to wonder who influenced whom.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try the rest of the series, of course.  And iZombie.  I haven’t read many other zombie protagonist stories, but I know there are some out there, like the Amanda Feral series by Mark Henry, the Hessian Mann series by Stephen Petrucha, the Dan Shamble series by Kevin J. Anderson, or Braineater Jones by Stephen Kozeniewski.  Vahn will be reviewing Braineater Jones next week, so stay tuned!

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on October 27, 2015, in 5-Great, Female, Invested Ivana, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve been meaning to launch myself into this series. My brother the loved the first book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

