All I Want by Jill Shalvis

October has been beautiful this year with weather you don’t often see this close to Christmas. I even got sunburned one day. But no matter how nice the weather is or how beautiful the leaves are, this fall will always be remembered as a season of loss.

24804591Title: All I Want
Author: Jill Shalvis
Series: Animal Magnetism, Book 7
Publish Date:
October 6, 2015
Genre:
Romance
Source: 
Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionFrom the “awesomely, incredibly talented”* New York Times bestselling author of Still the One, comes a sexy new Animal Magnetism novel set in Sunshine, Idaho, where the sky is the limit when it comes to love.

Pilot-for-hire Zoe Stone is happy to call Sunshine, Idaho, her home base. But her quiet life is thrown for a loop when her brother’s friend Parker comes to stay with her for a week. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife special agent is a handsome flirt with a gift for getting under her skin. And the situation only escalates when Parker hires her to fly him around the area while he collects evidence on a suspected smuggler.

Now she has to live and work with the guy. But when they’re in the air, she sees another side of him. He’s driven, focused, and sharp. And while he enjoys giving commentary on her blind dates, she quickly realizes with a shock that it’s Parker who gets her engines going…

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

There has been a lot to grieve, but most of it I won’t share to be respectful of the privacy of others. However, there is one heartbreak that I can share because it is completely mine and Lucyfer’s. On Friday, my cat and Lucy’s companion Hobbes slipped from this world peacefully as the cancer became too much. He was a beautiful 14 ½ year old tan and white cat that always rubbed his head on my kindle as I read and sometime got the pages to turn too quickly when he hit the screen with his paw. He loved that.

So on Friday night, Lucifer and I sat alone wondering what to do next. Reading has always been my escape so I picked up my kindle that still had Hobbes hair sticking to it. My heart contracted but I smiled at the silly memories I had of him. I started looking through my kindle trying to find something that I could get lost in and make me laugh. Then I found Jill Shalvis’s new book All I Want.

All I Want is a fun loving stand-alone book in her Animal Magmatism series. However, we still get to visit many of the characters we fell in love with in her previous six books. My first smile came when Zoe opened the door and kissed Parker thinking he was someone else and my first laugh came when this happened:

           “Help!” screeched a feminine voice. “HELP ME!”

           Parker whipped around, automatically reaching for the weapon that he didn’t have at the small of his back because,    oh yeah, he was in running gear with no place to hide a weapon.

           But there was no woman. Just a huge parrot perched on a printer at the front desk.

          “Help!” it squeaked in a shockingly authentic woman’s voice. “I’ve been turned into a parrot!”

         “Peanut, play dead,” Wyatt said. Peanut sighed and tucked her head into her feathers.

         “Good parrot.” Wyatt looked at Parker. “She’s a nut.”

         “Damn, shit, farts,” the bird muttered beneath her breath, making Parker grin.

         Wyatt sighed. “Peanut’s a mimic, and Jade, our office manager, has a bit of a potty mouth.”

         “Boner,” Peanut said, head still tucked into her feathers.

         “Peanut, dead parrots don’t talk.” Wyatt turned back to Parker. “Follow me.”

I was laughing so hard that tears were running down my face. This is what Jill Shalvis’s books do. They make you laugh. They make you open your heart to two imperfect but wonderful characters. They make you fall in love. They make you badge4v4forget about the bad day, the awful boss, or the hole that is in your heart. That’s a gift that not many writers have but Jill Shalvis is filled with it. It’s a gift that she gives her readers.

I loved this book. I loved how each interaction between Zoe and Parker was well sculpted and added to each character. I loved the sexual tension that crackled between the two characters. I loved the witty banter back and forth. I loved the Rated R love scenes and I loved that they rescued 2 kittens that needed a home. Somehow, that Friday night, I felt that Jill had written that book especially for me. So when the happy ending came and the story was over, my heart was a little lighter and little more whole.

Books can be magic. Jill Shalvis’s certainly are.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

I absolutely love Jill Shalvis so I recommend any of her books including her new series, Cedar Ridge.   Other great books would be The Lucky Dog Matchmaking Service by Beth Kendrick and Take Me Home by Nancy Herkness.

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on November 9, 2015, in 4-Good, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

