Four Weddings and a Fiasco: The Wedding Switch by Sharon Kleve

Welcome to Saturday Shorts where we feature short stories and novellas.

26206858Title: Four Weddings and a Fiasco: The Wedding Switch
Author: Sharon Kleve
Publish Date:
August 23, 2015
Genre:
Romance
Source:
Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionAbby Blackwell runs a successful wedding planning business. She’s delighted when Derrick, her boyfriend of only a few short months proposes. Abby immediately accepts and dreams of the perfect wedding at the Rose Chalet. But, when Derrick with no explanation, pressures her to get married as soon as possible, she has to wonder why and drags her feet.

Derrick Coltrane’s future rests on portraying a settled, respectable and married man. All he needs is a wife—now—and Abby fits the bill. She’s successful, smart, gorgeous, and would make the perfect corporate wife. He just needs to convince her to tie-the-knot by the end of the month to close the most important deal of his career.

Hunter Price knows he’s made the biggest mistake of his life. Derrick, a friend from school, hires him to pretend he’s getting married, in an attempt to trick Abby into planning her own whirlwind wedding. Abby is selfless, sweet, tastes like sunshine, and belongs to someone else—and he just kissed her.

Two grooms-to-be—one bride-to-be and one bridesmaid. Which couple will walk down the aisle to happily ever after?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

Have you ever had one of those days when you just needed to escape this world but you don’t have the time or the brain power to be sucked into a full novel?  Well I had one of those day’s last Thursday.  There wasn’t even time to breath in my schedule but I so needed to just let my mind wander into another life and another world so it could be refreshed and able to take on the next thing.  Then I saw my window of opportunity – dinner time.  I had an hour so I loaded The Wedding Switch by Sharon Kleve into my Kindle.

One always takes a chance when reading a novella because writing a short story is an art that not many people have mastered.badge4v4  Fortunately, Sharon Kleve jumps right into the story and pulls the reader in along with her. I loved these characters.  For a story that is only 51 pages long, I felt that Abby and Hunter were surprising complex and well formed characters.  Even the villain Derrick had many different sides to him.  It felt like I honestly got to know these people in a very short window of time.

The story had my prerequisite happy ending and when I was finished I felt refreshed.  Sharon Kleve took me completely into her world so I felt that I had escaped the stresses of the day.  Overall, I think all lovers of romance and happy endings will embrace this story and if you need a quick lunch read to get a little downtime, this is the story for you.


Lucyfer’s Corner

Lucy Face

3 Paw Prints –  There were two things that I liked about this story:  #1: It was short.  Sometimes the romantic dribble goes on and on and I wonder if my head will explode.  There is only so much sweet a demon cat can handle before they have to recharge the evil supply.  #2:  I loved the Derrick character.  He had a great evil plan to get what he wanted.  I admire that in a person and in the end he did what he needed but in a much less evil way.  That was a little disappointing.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…
There are so many books that I could recommend in this genre but if you are looking for quick, sweet, and romantic novellas I would checked out these:

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on November 14, 2015, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee, Saturday Shorts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

