Hounded by Kevin Hearne

A two thousand year old druid’s past finally catches up to him as he must face off against an old enemy.  Fortunately, he has friends.

HoundedTitle:  Hounded
Author:  Kevin Hearne
Series: Iron Druid Chronicles Book 01
Publish Date:  January 1, 2011
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionAtticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, lives peacefully in Arizona, running an occult bookshop and shape-shifting in his spare time to hunt with his Irish wolfhound. His neighbors and customers think that this handsome, tattooed Irish dude is about twenty-one years old—when in actuality, he’s twenty-one centuries old. Not to mention: He draws his power from the earth, possesses a sharp wit, and wields an even sharper magical sword known as Fragarach, the Answerer.

Unfortunately, a very angry Celtic god wants that sword, and he’s hounded Atticus for centuries. Now the determined deity has tracked him down, and Atticus will need all his power—plus the help of a seductive goddess of death, his vampire and werewolf team of attorneys, a sexy bartender possessed by a Hindu witch, and some good old-fashioned luck of the Irish—to kick some Celtic arse and deliver himself from evil.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Percy_Procrastinator_100Percy Procrastinator says…

What I didn’t like: Very little. If I didn’t like anything, it was a lack of pictures of some of the tattoos. I also think that if I hadn’t had it in ebook format, I would have referred to the pronunciation guide more but it wasn’t easy with the ebook.

What I liked: I didn’t see Atticus as a surfer dude. In terms of writing, while that description may have been used, and for his age he only looks in his early twenties, there is no attempt at an accent or mannerisms for that stereotype. I liked that this was a book about an experienced person, not someone still learning the ropes. As a character, Atticus knows who he is and what he wants to do. There is no angst or learning about the power; instead, this is about how you apply power to meet your goals. That was very refreshing. I like that he has a business that fits him, rare books, but has investments so that money isn’t a concern. For me, this is another example of showing that he’s older and experienced and doesn’t have to worry the trivial things.

I enjoyed the mythology set up in here. I liked reading about the old gods and their ways and how they interact. I liked that it’s kept to what is needed so more can be revealed in later books.

badge4v4I really enjoyed his friends. Oberon, his dog, is awesome and fun and reminds me of a dog while being so much more. I like that he has supernatural friends who are willing to help him. All of this really added to the story and made me curious to learn more about Atticus and his world.

The bottom line for me is that this was a very fun, good read. I quickly enjoyed the writing, the characters, and the world. I look forward to the next book!

Stand Out Award Badge2Our reviews in this series…

Ivana has reviewed the audio versions of three books later in this series:

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

Besides the normal urban fantasy types, I think anyone who likes the White Wolf RPG Scion would be interested in this book. A lot of themes, although certainly not exactly the same, are here and it would be a good example of how to do that style of game.

About Percy Procrastinator

I'll get to it

Posted on December 2, 2015, in 4-Good, Male, Percy Procrastinator, Review, Standout Award, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

