All Is Calm, All Is Bright by Colleen Coble

It’s the season of the Christmas romance story.  It’s definitely the most wonderful time of the year.

25880543Title: All Is Calm, All Is Bright
Author: Colleen Coble
Series: Hope Beach Novellas
Publish Date:
October 6, 2015
Genre:
Christmas Romance
Source:
NetGalley

Publisher’s DescriptionAll Is Calm
Brendan Waddell needs a place to recuperate. Lauren Everman needs a place to hide. It’s going to be an unexpectedly romantic Christmas at Bluebird Ranch.

Brendan Waddell has always considered Bluebird Ranch a little piece of heaven: an idyllic ranch that pairs abused children with abused horses, run by one of his old Marine buddies. Now, recovering from an on-the-job injury, Brendan thinks the ranch is the perfect place to spend Christmas healing up.

When Lauren Everman was a seventeen-year-old foster kid, Bluebird Ranch was the safest place she knew. Now it’s the perfect hideout for a woman on the run. As the witness to a murder, Lauren needs somewhere to lie low, and her skill with horses means she’ll be able to lend a hand with the troubled kids at Bluebird—without answering too many questions.

Lauren’s rich hair, high cheekbones, and dark eyes immediately get Brendan’s attention—but so does her secretive behavior. This Special Ops Intel man knows a woman on the run when he sees one, and he’s not about to let her put Bluebird Ranch at risk.

But as Brendan and Lauren get to know each other, their suspicions evaporate and romance starts to sizzle. But this would-be couple has more to worry about than each other—there’s a killer on the loose who wants Lauren kept quiet.

All Is Bright
A romantic, Christmas wedding at her seaside hotel gives Delilah a chance to shine with her unique gifts. But will her light be snuffed out before the bride and groom say “I do”?

As manager of the Tidewater Inn, Delilah Carter has been planning a spectacular Christmas wedding for her friends at the grand hotel overlooking the ocean. While picking up still more twinkly lights and some last-minute groceries for the reception dinner, a huge truck runs her off the freezing, wet roads into the dark night. Her car stops just short of an enormous tree and the truck speeds off into the night. Delilah escapes with her life and has almost convinced herself the whole thing was an accident, but then she begins to receive threatening phone calls. With the wedding just hours away, she’s distracted and anxious. Then Sheriff Tom Bourne stops by the inn and volunteers to help.

Tom has always had a soft spot for Delilah, and he’s determined to protect her. But he is pulled away by a bizarre Christmas stunt that has the neighborhood reeling, and Delilah is attacked again.

Will Delilah have to cancel the Christmas wedding at Tidewater Inn? And will Tom’s protection be enough to save Delilah from the shadowy figure looming in the background?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

Everyone has a favorite something that they associate with the Christmas season.  Some like the decorations or the shopping.  Others enjoy family time and the incredible food.  My sister’s TV doesn’t leave the Hallmark channel until well into the new year.

For me, it’s my Christmas reading.  I hoard Christmas books all year long because there is a very specific time frame when I can read them – Black Friday until the day school starts after Christmas break.  I read somewhere that for every Christmas book that is read outside the Christmas season an elf eats a reindeer. (This is also true for people who put up Christmas trees badge4v4before Thanksgiving and those that leave their Christmas lights on until March.)  Since I fear for Rudolph’s safety, I make sure that I stay within the Christmas limits.

My first Christmas readings were these two wonderful novellas by Colleen Coble.  They are a part of the Hope Beach series.  Both have characters I absolutely fell in love with and both are suspenseful with a little danger thrown in.  If I had to pick, I would say that All is Bright is my favorite.  All is Calm has a rough, confusing intro while All is Bright is smooth from beginning to end.   The romance rating is easily PG so they are safe for younger readers to pick up.

You can’t go wrong starting your Christmas reading with these two novellas.  There are funny, sweet, and left me feeling full of the Christmas spirit.


Lucy Face

Lucyfer’s Corner

There have been many changes in my life since the last time I was Ruby_Lee 100allowed to publish my opinion.

I was tired of all your complaining about all the stories I read were sappy and that you couldn’t get all that syrup out of your fur. I didn’t want to pressure you to read anything that you objected to.

I still find sticky spots!  Anyway – I know Ruby wrote about the loss of Lucy FaceHobbes, my partner cat.  Despite being a spawn from Satan,  I am still having a difficult time.  However, not too long after, a sick, starving kitten showed up at our door.  I was not pleased by the interloper and I demanded that Ruby put it back on the street.  Instead, she did her typical thing of feeding it and then spending her life savings to get it healthy.  I knew that I was never getting rid of the wretched creature when Ruby named her Izzy.

Ruby_Lee 100I made a deal with you.  If you would be nice to Izzy and let her stay, then I would have Izzy review the romance books so you don’t have to read them.  You can always give your opinion if you wish but then we won’t have to listen to you day after day lament that love isn’t real because you killed Cupid 3 years ago when you mistook him for a giant flying mouse.  So this is Izzy’s first review…

5 paws – I loved both of them.  I got to sit on mom’s lap and she helped me with the words I didn’t know.  I am only 3-4 months old but I read like a 17IMG_0640 (100x80) month old cat.  Mom also explained that there will be books where she will have to cover my eyes during certain parts because they are too grown-up for kitten eyes. During these two stories, she didn’t have to cover my eyes once!  My favorite part was when the puppy that Lauren got in All is Calm saved her life by biting the man that was attacking her.  *Sigh* I hope mom gets a dog for me to play with.

Lucy Face

A DOG!!!… Are you crazy?  Dogs are brainless slobbery creatures created only to be the bane of my existence.  Do you all see what I have to put up with?

 


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on December 4, 2015, in 4-Good, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OMG, Lucy and Izzy are a hoot! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

