Atmosphere of Hope by Tim Flannery

We’re taking a break from our pleasure reading to learn about recent findings and theories regarding our planet’s climate issues.

Atmosphere of HopeTitle:  Atmosphere of Hope: The Search For Solutions to the Climate Crisis (audio)
Author:  Tim Flannery
Publish Date:  October 6, 2015
Genre:  Non-Fiction
Source: provided by Audible Studios

Publisher’s DescriptionA decade ago, Tim Flannery’s #1 international bestseller, The Weather Makers, was one of the first books to break the topic of climate change out into the general conversation. Today, Earth’s climate system is fast approaching a crisis. Political leadership has not kept up, and public engagement with the issue of climate change has declined. Opinion is divided between technological optimists and pessimists who feel that catastrophe is inevitable. The publication of this new book is timed for the lead-up to the Climate Change Conference in Paris in December 2015, which aims to achieve a legally binding and universal agreement on climate from all the nations in the world. This book anticipates and will influence the debates.

Time is running out, but catastrophe is not inevitable. Around the world people are now living with the consequences of an altered climate—with intensified and more frequent storms, wildfires, droughts and floods. For some it’s already a question of survival. Drawing on the latest science, Flannery gives a snapshot of the trouble we are in and more crucially, proposes a new way forward, including rapidly progressing clean technologies and a “third way” of soft geo-engineering. Tim Flannery, with his inimitable style, makes this urgent issue compelling and accessible. This is a must-read for anyone interested in our global future.

 

Agent_Annie_100


Agent Annie says…

Atmosphere of Hope: Searching for Solutions to the Climate Crisis, written and narrated by Tim Flannery, is an extremely current perspective of global climate change.  I have read several books on climate change and this was presented with facts and statistics of a global perspective.  I forget how ego-centric my reading is because I read from a US point of view.  There is so much more going on in the world on sustainability and energy.

This particular volume updates Tim Flannery’s earlier work, The Weather Makers: How Man is Changing Climate and What it Means for Life on Earth. The author divides the information into 3 parts starting with what is Climate Science.  He presents the information in a well thought out and researched manner as to what changes are occurring and how those changes will affect mankind.  He then moves into presenting the situation with current energy both petroleum based and renewables.

I especially appreciated new information from around the world that I was unaware of, especially with how the cost of wind and solar has come down so much.  There are other countries that are embracing the new technology and I don’t hear much about it in my weekly news so feel I can now make more informed decisions.  The 3rd section was about the future: those breakthroughs that are just being explored and the effort we all need to put forth in order to prevent catastrophe for humans.

badge4v4I give this book a 4: it’s written at a level I could understand and engage with and it transitioned well to the audio format. The one thing I felt was missing was advice on what I can do on an individual basis.  This book seemed more about what’s going on at a distance to my personal life and me.  I would have wanted to know what could I take action on now that may bring more hope to the outcomes.

 

About Agent Annie

I am a former Independent bookstore owner that created a 30 books in 30 minutes presentation for book clubs, libraries and avid reader groups. I specialize in short reviews that focus on plot, theme and discussion topics. I primarily read mystery/thriller, who-done-its and sci-fi/fantasy. I love stories in any format and will listen to an audio book as quickly as I would read a paper or digital version. I prefer books that make you think, don't have a predictable ending and tend to have some aspect that is outside the current norm. I tend to enjoy series once I am hooked on the main characters and the world and am very loyal. Some of the books I've enjoyed in the past are: Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear, The Dragon Riders of Pern by Anne & Todd McCaffrey and The Sherlockian Graham Moore. I will also read ANYTHING by Stephen King. As a matter of fact, I wrote a graduate level paper on the leadership styles in The Stand. I will accept review requests.

Posted on December 7, 2015, in 4-Good, Agent Annie, Non-Fiction, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

