Driven by Kelley Armstrong

I am so glad that, though the series has officially “ended,” there are still more Otherworld stories to discover!

DrivenTitle:  Driven
Author:  Kelley Armstrong
SeriesOtherworld 13.6
Publish Date:  December 5, 2015
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: Cains are known for being big, brutish and not-too-bright. The mutt clan embodies all the supernatural world’s worst stereotypes about werewolves. But not even the Cains deserve to be hunted down and skinned like animals.

When young Davis Cain comes to the Pack for help, Alpha Elena Michaels can’t refuse him. It isn’t about morality or justice. It’s about not letting anyone think they can do this to werewolves and get away with it.

But Elena is also dealing with the Pack’s homegrown monster—Malcolm Danvers, onetime enforcer, full-time psycho. Malcolm is now under Elena’s control, as part of the most difficult decision she’s had to make as leader. But if she has to let Malcolm in, she’s going to make full use of him…and the best person to catch monsters is one who knows exactly how they think.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

I’ve been a fan of the Women of the Otherworld (now just called the Otherworld series) for a long time.  Of all the races and characters in the series, the werewolves have always been one of my favorites.

I love seeing Elena in the role of Alpha of the pack, and I particularly love her children.  I can’t wait until they start getting their own stories.  I did notice that I’ve either missed a few stories or just haven’t read them in a while; I was unfamiliar with some of the characters and events mentioned.  I know I missed the Bounty Hunt novella as that has not come out in an ebook format.  It seems I missed other references to the Cain family, too.  That gives me a GREAT excuse to go back and read the whole series over again, which I’ve been wanting to do, anyway. 🙂

badge4v4What I like most about this story is the way in which it shows a family dealing with the impact of a toxic person.  We all have THOSE people in the family — the troublemaker, the energy vampire, the one no one wants to see but can’t always avoid.  In many cases, this person has a profound negative impact on everyone they touch.  Learning to deal with a person like this can take years of therapy and introspection.  It is great to see how Elena’s family deals with their toxic family member in a variety of ways.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try all of the Otherworld novels, novellas, and short stories.  There are a lot of them!  If we did a read-along for this series, it might take a whole year!  But they are all oh-so-good.  Kelley Armstrong is amazingly prolific.  Check out all the different worlds in which she writes; I’m sure you’ll find something you like!

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on December 12, 2015, in 4-Good, Female, Invested Ivana, Review, Saturday Shorts, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

