Nell’s Opinion & Book Hunt

Does reading books instill confidence?  I have a t-shirt that claims I am quiet and reserved, but no one everNervous_Nellie_100 truly believes that.  How come?  I read stories that *may* have a thread of truth to them.  Can we learn how to interact with others by reading books?  I think that answer is mostly a yes.

I am, by no means, the definition of outgoing, but I can get by if I have to.  I learned most of it from my boss.  He is salesman to the nth degree.  He’s sold all kinds of things in his life – from farm equipment to health insurance and people absolutely love him. He can make anyone feel special and that is what we all want – to feel special. That kind of thing I needed to experience first hand to see the results.  After that, I could see people through authors eyes in their books.  Their experiences are retold in the story because, after all, they write about what they know, right?

Romances help me wear rose colored glasses.  Urban Fantasy help me feel indestructible.  Thrillers help me feel paranoid (not that I need that feeling).  Mysteries help me see the angles.  The worst book I can read is political thrillers because I truly believe most of politician’s actions in the story they also do in real life.  That instills fear.

Back to my original question – does reading books instill confidence?  Um……….maybe a little but mostly confidence comes from myself.  Does reading stories help me interact with people?  I believe so, however, I would probably gain more insight from the non fiction section, but………I’d rather read about kick ass slayers killing monsters.  In my opinion, it’s an opportunity to gain insight into the gnarly monsters and the quick as a ninja slayers that fight to save us all.  Hey, I’ll take what I can get.

Book hunt time!

23818762Title:  The Olympus Project
Author:  Ted Tayler
Series: The Phoenix #1
Description: This is the first book in a brand new series featuring ‘The Phoenix’, a man rescued from a watery grave by strangers. He has been headhunted because of his particular skill set; that of a super efficient stone cold killer.

The stories throughout the series will cover the activities of the secret organization which recruited the man they have named ‘The Phoenix’ as they send their agents across the world removing anyone who poses a threat to political or economic stability.

In this fast paced thriller we follow ‘The Phoenix’ as he exacts revenge and rights wrongs in his inimitable style. ‘The Phoenix’ has always been a loner; can he and his new colleagues work together as a team to prevent a terrorist cell from causing havoc in Central London?

Free on Kindle

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on December 13, 2015, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

