One Wish in Manhattan by Mandy Baggot

To read in the quiet of a dark winter’s night… That is heaven, I think.

One WishTitle: One Wish in Manhattan
Author: Mandy Baggot
Publish Date: October 2, 2015
Genre:
Christmas Romance
Source:
NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: It’s the most wonderful time of the year… to fall in love

The temperature is dropping, snow is on its way and Hayley Walker is heading for New York with one wish on her mind…to start over.

With her nine year-old daughter Angel, Hayley is ready for an adventure. From hot chocolates and horse-drawn carriage rides in Central Park, to ice-skating at the Rockefeller Center, and Christmas shopping on 5th Avenue – they soon fall in love with the city that never sleeps.

But there’s more to New York than the bright twinkly lights and breathtaking skyscrapers. Angel has a Christmas wish of her own – to find her real dad.

While Hayley tries to fulfill her daughter’s wish, she crosses paths with Billionaire Oliver Drummond. Restless and bored with fast living, there’s something intriguing about him that has Hayley hooked.

Determined to make her daughter’s dream come true, can Hayley dare to think her own dreams might turn into reality – could A New York Christmas turn into a New York Forever?

Travel to the Big Apple this Christmas and join Hayley and Oliver as they both realize that life isn’t just about filling the minutes…it’s about making every moment count.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

I’m going to be honest with you.  I didn’t want to read this book.  It looked like a perfectly good book, but I had things to do. I had cookies to bake, presents to buy and wrap, and Christmas cards to send out.  Plus I had to redecorate the Christmas tree daily because Lucyfer and Izzy had decided it was their own private playground.  I had too much Christmas stuff to do to actually sit down and enjoy the fact that it is Christmas.  But on Monday night, I sat down and picked up my kindle. I am so glad that I did.

One Wish in Manhattan is not my usual Christmas short story where in 92 pages people can go from strangers to lifelong soulmates.  This story has badge4v4imperfect characters with real life problems.  There is a lot of complexity wrapped through the story which is developed well as we get to know the characters.  And on top of everything else, the dialogue is hilarious.  Nine year old Angel gives the story it’s heart and soul plus she shared many good facts that may help me win at Trivia Pursuit someday. The romance is sweet with a rating of PG-13, but it does have enough suggestive dialogue to keep it interesting.

Overall this is a fun, uproarious funny, complex book with the heart of Christmas at it’s core which helped to bring Christmas back into focus for me.  As I looked up from my Kindle to watch the Christmas lights shine in the dark room, I realized I was snuggled in my favorite chair, covered by a blanket with three cats keeping me warm.  At that moment, I felt peace and my soul was able to rest.  I took a deep breath and realized that these perfect moments were as close to heaven as we get on this side of life.

So, I ask you to take a second this holiday season to read your favorite Christmas story or relax in a dark room filled with Christmas lights.  Savor Christmas before it is gone for another year.  Your soul needs that little piece of heaven.


Izzy’s Corner

5 paw prints. This was a long story for a kitten to read. I had IMG_0640 (100x80)to take several naps while we were reading, but mom always told me what happened when I woke up.  I didn’t always understand the jokes when Mom would laugh but she said that she would explain them to me when I was older.  She even had to cover my eyes a couple times which just led me to take another nap. 

My favorite parts were the dog that wore sparkles and the ice skating at Rockefeller Center.  I think I could be a great ice skater someday and it wouldn’t hurt too much when I fall down because I am so close to the ground.  Lucyfer said that she would take me to the lake and teach me to skate.  I thought the lake needed to be frozen first, but Lucyfer says that it works better to skate on it if it isn’t frozen.  The water gives you extra speed.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on December 17, 2015, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for taking time out of your Christmas preparation to read One Wish in Manhattan, Ruby! I know what a hectic time Christmas can be. I have children… and cats! Mine are called Kravitz and Springsteen – that cats that is, not the children.

    I’m glad Hayley, Oliver and Angel’s story made you feel warm and cosy and I hope you have Happy Holidays this year!

    Mandy 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Be careful, Izzy! Lucyfur may be tricking you. You stick with reading with Mom and writing reviews. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

