Temper by Alex Hughes

I’m so excited to have a Mindspace Investigations story from Isabella Cherabino’s perspective!  Temper doesn’t disappoint.

alexhughes_temper_ebook_final-200x300Title:  Temper
Author:  Alex Hughes
SeriesMindspace Investigations Book 4.7
Publish Date:  December 16, 2015
Genre:  Science Fiction/Urban Fantasy
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionIntroducing Temper, the first Mindspace Investigation novella from ex-Homicide Detective Isabella Cherabino’s point of view…

Some Clients Test You More Than Others

Getting fired from the DeKalb County P.D. was hard, and starting up a private investigation firm has turned out to be even harder. The bills aren’t getting paid, and it doesn’t help that my partner the telepath keeps getting called away to work for the police department that dropped me like a bad habit. It makes me sad. And angry. A whole lot angry. But when a big-time steel mill mogul comes to Mindspace Investigations PI for help finding his blackmailer, I jump at the chance to get justice for someone again.

Unfortunately, there’s a lot more to this case than meets the eye. Shady union dealings. Ties to the mob. Questionable motives. Lies and half-truths. But we need the money, and I can’t afford to be picky about jobs right now. No matter how much I dislike the client.

My sensei used to tell me that picking a fight was a bad idea for anyone, but a particularly bad idea for me. I learned that the hard way as a cop. But sometimes you don’t get to pick your battles. I just hope this is a fight I can win without crossing too many lines.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

Alex Hughes is bringing me the world of reality.  In Fluid, she showed me how Adam reacts to a case that has less than a perfect “wrapped up with a bow” type ending.  In Temper, she shows me more about Isabella Charabino than I have ever deduced.

Isabella is faced with a world that she has to rebuild and taking a case that is less than desirable all the while being in great psychological pain.  I am ashamed to admit that I turned on her in the last review because she’s crabby and I think Adam has to be a saint to put up with her.  Well, in this book, I understand a lot more about what makes Isabella who she is.

She is crabby, but she’s hurting.  It’s a hurt that has been set on her like a band of hungry wild dogs.  She’s still devastated over her husband’s death and the life that could have been.  She laments over the white picket fence and 3.25 kids. (This is a futuristic book so the kid count increases with inflation.)  Her livelihood has been taken away – with extreme prejudice.  She is more than just out of sorts and I learned to be a little more forgiving when it comes to Isabella. Adam does make an appearance and I learned that Isabella does have feelings for Adam and that fact creates a guilt factor for her while she is trying to keep her husband’s memory alive.

badge4v4I thought this novella was perfect.  What needed to be said was written and the insight to one of the most difficult characters was given.  Alex is a magnificent word artist.  She creates characters that are whole and significant to the grand scheme of Mindspace Investigations.  I am waiting in anticipation for the next book. I hope Isabella can find happiness somewhere down the road.

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

I think it’s pretty cool that Fluid and Temper are companion novellas; they take place at the same time.  Adam is on the job for the DeKalb police department while Cherabino is on an investigation for the firm.  They meet up a couple of times in the story, but each novella follows a different character.

Despite their separate investigations, their experiences mirror each other.  Both characters are dealing with an unsuccessful conclusion to their cases, one that challenges their ideas of justice and fairness.  Both characters are wanting to reach out to each other, but feel as if they cannot (due to events that took place in Book 4).  Both characters are realizing how much they liked the partnership they had originally.  Reading these two novellas made me feel as if there is something awesome coming in Book 5 that will really solidify their partnership, their relationship, and the new P.I. firm.

It is also cool to read a story from Cherabino’s perspective.  She is one messed-up gal, and until this novella, I didn’t realize just *how* messed up.  She is still coming to terms with with the death of her husband, which makes her feelings for Adam even more complicated, as if she was betraying her husband’s memory.  She has just lost the one thing that kept her together through that death — her job.  Her behavior after losing her job is not unlike that of an addict spinning out of control, which is another great parallel to Adam’s history.  Temper is an apt title for Cherabino’s perspective as anger is how her emotional turmoil manifests.

badge4v4Overall, I think Temper is a great addition to the series.  Temper and Fluid have just whetted my appetite even more for Book 5!

Our reviews in this series…

Other reviews…

This is a pretty new book, so check out Goodreads for reviews.

If you like this book…

…the rest of the Mindspace Investigation series.  Really, it’s awesome!

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on December 19, 2015, in 4-Good, Female, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Paranormal Mystery, Review, Saturday Shorts, Sci-Fi and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

